ZAO: Entire New Album Available For Streaming

"Awake?", the new album from the influential heavy music act ZAO, is available for streaming in its entirety on the band's MySpace page. Due on May 5 via Ferret Music, the follow-up to 2006's "The Fear Is What Keeps Us Here" was recorded in Latrobe, Pennsylvania (near Greensburg); Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Encinitas, California; and San Marcos, California. AS I LAY DYING frontman Tim Lambesis and Daniel Castleman headed up the proceedings, along with ZAO's Scott Mellinger, for what is shaping up to be another monumental ZAO album.

According to a posting on ZAO's MySpace page, "Awake?" features a brand new version of "Romance of the Southern Spirit", which "has finally been given the sonic quality it deserves with a brand new recording that smashes the basement b-side version you've heard."

"Awake?" track listing:

01. 1,000,000 Outstretched Arms Of Nothing
02. Entropica
03. The Eyes Behind The Throne
04. Human Cattle Masses Marching Forward
05. Romance Of The Southern Spirit
06. What Will You Find?
07. Awake?
08. Quiet Passenger Pt. 1
09. Reveal
10. Quiet Passenger Pt. 2/The World Caved In

Commented the band: "We can't wait for you guys to hear this album! We are very proud of it, and in our humble opinions, it is very reminiscent of what you have come to know and love about ZAO over the years. Every band likes to say, 'This new album is our best yet,' so we won't say that to you. We know that albums like 'Blood & Fire' and 'Liberate' will always be fan favorites and they are special to us as well. But with that being said, believe us when we say that we strongly feel 'Awake?' is a more than worthy addition to our catalog."

ZAO's "Where Blood & Fire Bring Rest" was hailed as "one of the most the most influential albums of 1998" by Alternative Press magazine. That album, which introduced frontman Dan Weyandt to the heavy music scene, and follow-up "Liberate te ex Inferis", which introduced guitarist and songwriter Mellinger, continue to be cornerstone albums to a new generation of bands drawing influence from ZAO's dark, passionate and creative music.

"ZAO is a band that has influenced all types of bands in the heavy music genre, from the DEFTONES and to my band," offers Lambesis. "I'm very excited be a part of bringing them the production their band has always deserved. This record will be the ZAO sound that fans and musicians like myself have been waiting to hear for a long time."

The lineup for this ZAO album is the same as "The Fear...": Longtime co-conspirators Weyandt and Mellinger alongside bass player Martin Lunn and drummer Jeff Gretz (FROM AUTUMN TO ASHES). "Recording Jeff Gretz's drums was the most relaxing and professional studio experience I've ever been a part of," boasts Lambesis. "That guy is a true pro and the standard by which I will judge every other drummer I record at Lambesis Studios in the future."

ZAO's two Ferret Music albums, "The Fear Is What Keeps Us Here" (2006) and "The Funeral Of God" (2004), are among the biggest selling and most important in the band's impressive catalog. "Funeral" was produced by Erik Rachel (EVERY TIME I DIE) and "The Fear..." was recorded by Steve Albini (NIRVANA). The band has toured with IN FLAMES, TRIVIUM, SHADOWS FALL and in the past took bands like UNDEROATH and UNEARTH on tour as their opening acts.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).