ZAKK WYLDE Counts Down 'Top 10 Guitar Albums Of All Time'

Video footage of Zakk Wylde (BLACK LABEL SOCIETY, OZZY OSBOURNE) counting down the "Top 10 Guitar Albums Of All Time" as selected by the editors of has been posted on YouTube. Watch the clip below to hear Zakk's comments on the following classics:

01. VAN HALEN - "Van Halen" (1978)
02. THE JIMI HENDRIX EXPERIENCE - "Are You Experienced" (1967)
03. LED ZEPPELIN - "Led Zeppelin IV" (1971)
04. DEREK AND THE DOMINOS - "Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs" (1970)
05. GUNS N' ROSES - "Appetite for Destruction" (1987)
06. LED ZEPPELIN - "Led Zeppelin II" (1969)
07. THE ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND - "At Fillmore East" (1971)
08. CREAM - "Disraeli Gears" (1967)
09. THE JIMI HENDRIX EXPERIENCE - "Electric Ladyland" (1968)
10. AC/DC - "Back in Black" (1980)

Both VAN HALEN and THE ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND came out on top on's two "Top Guitar Album" lists. VAN HALEN's 1978 self-titled debut topped the editors' "Top 50 List", coming in ahead of the JIMI HENDRIX EXPERIENCE's 1967 debut "Are You Experienced", and 1971's "Led Zeppelin IV".

According to The Pulse of Radio, THE ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND's groundbreaking 1971 live album "At Fillmore East" topped's "Top 25 Readers' List", edging ahead of DEREK AND THE DOMINOS' sole studio album, 1970's "Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs" — with third place going to LED ZEPPELIN's 1969 "Led Zeppelin II" collection.

Honorable mention goes to ZEPPELIN who each placed a total of four albums over the two lists with 1969's first and second albums, "Led Zeppelin IV", along with their 1975 studio double set, "Physical Graffitti".

Surprisingly, heavy metal/hard rock albums by the likes of OZZY OSBOURNE, METALLICA and STEVE VAI, stole the spotlight away from the "big three" — THE BEATLES, THE ROLLING STONES, and THE WHO — who were each only represented across the lists with two albums each: THE BEATLES' "Rubber Soul" and "Revolver", from 1965 and 1966; the STONES' 1971 "Sticky Fingers" and 1972 "Exile On Main Street" albums; and THE WHO's 1970 concert recording "Live At Leeds" and 1971 classic, "Who's Next".


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).