YEAR LONG DISASTER's 'Black Magic' Due In March

Rock trio YEAR LONG DISASTER — which consists of guitarist/vocalist Daniel Davies (son of THE KINKS' Dave Davies), bassist Rich Mullins (ex-KARMA TO BURN, SPEEDEALER), and drummer Brad Hargreaves (THIRD EYE BLIND) — will release its new album, "Black Magic: All Mysteries Revealed", on March 9, 2010 via Volcom Entertainment. The CD's first single, "Show Me Your Teeth", is available for download at this location.

Look for YEAR LONG DISASTER to support the release with an exhausting tour schedule, starting with a month-long residency at Los Angeles' Spaceland in January.

YEAR LONG DISASTER's 2007 self-titled debut landed them tours with THE CULT, VELVET REVOLVER, and the FOO FIGHTERS, as well as praise from critics and fans alike, including MOTÖRHEAD's Lemmy Kilmister (with whom they also toured) who told Kerrang! magazine that "YEAR LONG DISASTER plays rock and roll music like rock and roll should be played." At the close of 2008, with two years of international touring behind them, the band secured Grammy Award-winning producer Nick Raskulinecz (FOO FIGHTERS, ALICE IN CHAINS, RUSH, MARILYN MANSON) to produce "Black Magic: All Mysteries Revealed".

Based loosely on the early 20th century Russian novel "Master and Margarita" by Mikhail Bulgakov, "Black Magic" is a landscape peopled by figures — whores, despots, lovers, traitors and dreamers — liberated from the myth that innocence is exalted but haunted by the perpetual threat of spiritual disappointment and emotional disaster that experience has taught them to expect. The album is fueled by howling vocals and blistering guitars that flirt with the limits of control, only to be disciplined back into order by unexpected melodies and the band's famously tight bass and drum section.

"Black Magic: All Mysteries Revealed" track listing:

01. Black Magic
02. Show Me Your Teeth
03. Love Like Blood
04. Stranger In My Room
05. Sparrow Hill
06. Seven Of Swords
07. She Told Us All
08. Venus At The Crossroads
09. Major Arcana
10. Foggy Bottom
11. Cyclone


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).