WOLF Announces U.S. Release Date For 'The Black Flame'

Swedish traditional metal act WOLF will see the North American release of the band’s fourth album, "The Black Flame", on October 3 through Prosthetic Records. The band's previous record, "Evil Star", along with its back catalog, was also licensed for North American release through Prosthetic in early 2004.

WOLF has offered the following update on preparation for the debut music video from "The Black Flame", for the album's opening song "I Will Kill Again", via its official web site:

"We're at the house (haunted of course) in the town off Umeå in Sweden recording the video for the song 'I Will Kill Again' from the upcoming album. Director Owe R Kill Lingwall (NOCTURNAL RITES) is doing his very best to make us look evil (that means he's doing nothing, cause we're already evil). Tormentor [bassist Mikael Goding] is happy 'cause Westham kicked Charlton's arse. Axeman [guitarist Johannes Losbäck] is happy 'cause he likes metal. Hammershark [drummer Tobias Kellgren] is happy 'cause he's getting paid tomorrow and Viper [vocalist/guitarist Niklas Stållvind] is not happy cause he's being tortured by the Killer. And yes... CELTIC FROST rules."

As previously reported, WOLF has tapped legendary artist Thomas Holm (MERCYFUL FATE, KING DIAMOND, WOLF's "Black Wings") to create the artwork for "The Black Flame". The CD was recorded at Studio Fredman in Gothenburg, Sweden and will include such tracks as "The Bite", "I Will Kill Again", "Silverbullit Eater", and "Black Magic". The follow-up to 2004's "Evil Star" is the first album to feature new drummer Tobias R Kellgren and longtime session/live guitarist Johannes Losbäck alongside founding members Niklas Stålvind (vocals, lead guitar) and Mikael Goding (bass).

With regards to the new album's musical direction, the band said, "Think old-school metal without beeing old-fashioned. It's heavy as hell and will hit you like a ton off bricks. It has a horror vibe to it that won't let you be, and it could be a soundtrack to old Eighties horror movies. Oh yes, it contains a lot of heavy metal too...A LOT!"

WOLF was formed 1995 by Stålvind and Goding. After recording several demos, Daniel "Dale" Bergkvist (drums) joined the band in 1997 and completed the core lineup that recorded the first three albums: "Wolf" (2000), "Black Wings" (2002) and "Evil Star" (2004) — all of them recorded and produced at the Abyss studio by Peter Tägtgren.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).