WOE OF TYRANTS: 'Threnody' Artwork Unveiled

Ohio's WOE OF TYRANTS will release its third album, "Threnody", on April 13 via Metal Blade Records. According to a press release from the label, "This time around, the guys have seriously turned up the shred-knob and churned out some of the most exciting songs we've heard swirling around the Metal Blade offices in quite some time. On this record, you'll find equal parts speed, groove and over-the-top guitar soloing. Headbanging will be mandatory."

Commented vocalist Chris Catanzaro: "We have a brand-baby-spankin'-new record that we finished recording at the end of 2009 with Jamie King producing, and to embrace the cliché, 'This is the most epic brutal stuff we've ever done and we're stoked on it!'

"For those of us who do not know what [the] word ['threnody'] means right off hand (I had to look it up as I was reading a passage from Ralph Waldo Emerson long ago), a threnody is a song or hymn inspired by the grief of losing someone you love.

"The album tells a story of a non-specific individual traveling between planets searching for answers, while paralleling Satan's fall from grace to damnation at the same time.

"We all experience a change at some point as we travel through life, albeit not of the same magnitude as Lucifer, that will render us either content, or disgusted. When disgust is the feeling, then we begin to miss our former self as if they were an entirely different person.

"I'd like to be clear that I'm not referring specifically to Christians, or Muslims, or Amish or whatever else the kids are doing these days. 'Threnody', as we are using it, is a story of grief over losing oneself.

"This album will surprise those familiar with our band, and hopefully surpass any preconceived notions of those who are listening to us for the first time.

"If you have expectations for this record to sound like our last two albums, it doesn't. Well, a little like the others, as we still prefer playing leads over doing breakdowns, and we still wish we were WINTERSUN or DECAPITATED. But, for the most part, this record is new territory for us and we are excited to unleash it."

"Threnody" track listing:

01. Tetelestai
02. Creatures Of The Mire
03. Venom Eye
04. Tempting The Wretch
05. Threnody
06. Bloodsmear
07. The Venus Orbit
08. Lightning Over Atlantis
09. Singing The Surrender
10. Descendit Ad Inferos (The Harrowing Of Hell)

WOE OF TYRANTS will support OVERKILL on the band's 25th anniversary North American tour, dubbed Killfest 2010, in April/May 2010. The trek will span the length of the U.S., hitting spots in Canada, with one final show at New York City's Nokia Theater. Additional support on the tour will come from VADER, GOD DETHRONED, WARBRINGER and EVILE.

WOE OF TYRANTS' second album, "Kingdom Of Might", was released in January 2009 via Metal Blade Records. The CD was engineered in its entirety by Joey Sturgis of Foundation Studios (THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA, GWEN STACY, BROTHER VON DOOM).

For more information, visit www.myspace.com/wot.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).