WITHIN TEMPTATION: New Video Interview With SHARON DEN ADEL Posted Online

Holland's FaceCulture recently conducted an interview with vocalist Sharon den Adel of Dutch symphonic metallers WITHIN TEMPTATION. Watch the chat in two parts below.

"An Acoustic Night At The Theatre", the new live album from WITHIN TEMPTATION, will be released in North America on December 15 via Roadrunner Records. The release will be available via all digital music providers, while physical copies will be available exclusively at the newly launched Roadrunner Records web store.

In November 2008, WITHIN TEMPTATION embarked on a sold-out, intimate theatre tour of Europe, complete with seated audiences. The setup afforded the band the opportunity to rearrange several classics from its extensive catalogue to suit an acoustic performance. The album was recorded at the Muziekcentrum Frits Philips in Eindhoven, Holland on November 30 of last year. The performance was beautifully captured and demonstrates the simplified and stripped down side of the band.

Guitarist Robert Westerholt explained, "I was fascinated by the idea of giving our audience a much more individual experience by focusing on the essence of our songs and reducing the show to a minimum. At the same time the acoustic arrangements and sounds let you hear different influences in our music. For example, some Celtic elements which I think come out best when played acoustically." Vocalist Sharon den Adel adds, "To show this other side of WITHIN TEMPTATION has been a dream of mine for quite some time. It was great to see that not only our existing fans but also people seeing us for the first time enjoyed it so much."

Special guests include LIFE OF AGONY's vocalist Keith Caputo for the single "What Have You Done". Caputo guested on the album version, so it was only appropriate that he contributed to the live song, as well. Additionally, THE GATHERING's Anneke van Giersbergen joins den Adel for a powerful partnership on "Somewhere".

Of additional note, the album also contains the brand new song "Utopia", written during the rehearsals for the theatre tour. A duet with U.K. singer-songwriter Chris Jones (whom Sharon met while working with world-famous DJ Armin van Buuren on his track "In And Out Of Love"), "Utopia" will also be available as a digital single prior to the album release. The band are set to film a video shortly with director Oscar Verpoort. Poignantly written, "Utopia" is about two lovers who can't be together because they are separated by their contrasting dreams of the ideal life. "The only way to be together is for one of them to sacrifice their dream," clarifies Sharon. "It really is about this one moment that we each inevitably experience: reaching a point in your life where you have to decide what you want your future to look like."

An EPK (Electronic Press Kit) for "An Acoustic Night At The Theatre" can be viewed below.

"An Acoustic Night At The Theatre" track listing:

01. Towards The End
02. Stand My Ground
03. Caged
04. All I Need
05. Frozen
06. Somewhere (feat. Anneke van Giersbergen)
07. The Cross
08. Pale
09. What Have You Done (feat. Keith Caputo)
10. Memories
11. Forgiven
12. Utopia (feat. Chris Jones)

WITHIN TEMPTATION states: "In April next year we will be doing a rerun of [the acoustic] tour, where we will be doing this particular show for the last time. After that, we will prepare ourselves for the new album, new show, etc."

Sharon den Adel and WITHIN TEMPTATION guitarist Robert Westerholt welcomed their second child, Robin Aiden Westerholt, on June 1. The couple also has a three-year old daughter named Eva Luna den Adel.

WITHIN TEMPTATION released a double-DVD, titled "Black Symphony", on September 22, 2008. It is also available as a double-CD.

Part 1:

Part 2:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).