WINO To Play Acoustic Show In Los Angeles This Saturday

The legendary Scott "Wino" Weinrich will perform a solo acoustic set this Saturday, January 15 at the Volcom store in Los Angeles. At this special one-off show, Wino will play tracks from his first-ever collection of acoustic anthems on his new solo album, "Adrift". The show is FREE to the public, but those attending are to RSVP at Wino's new web site,

As previously announced, Wino will hit the road this February on a short acoustic tour with longtime friend and SHRINEBUILDER bandmate Scott Kelly of NEUROSIS. Sponsored by BrooklynVegan, the trek will venture through California, Texas, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland and New York, showcasing both legendary artists in solo, acoustic mode.

Wino/Scott Kelly tour:

Feb. 05 - Viper Room - Hollywood, CA
Feb. 07 - Casbah - San Diego, CA
Feb. 08 - Emo's - Austin, TX
Feb. 09 - Abbey Pub - Chicago, IL
Feb. 10 - Great Scott - Allston, MA
Feb. 11 - Sonar - Baltimore, MD (w/ DARSOMBRA)
Feb. 12 - Mercury Lounge - New York, NY (w/ MAN'S GIN)

With dozens of albums released throughout his time spent in THE OBSESSED, SAINT VITUS, SHINE, SPIRIT CARAVAN, THE HIDDEN HAND, SHRINEBUILDER, Dave Grohl's PROBOT project and much more since the late '70s, Scott Weinrich's mammoth and varied resume spans nearly three full decades, essentially set him up as a purveyor and forerunner of the entire genre we now call doom rock. A true legend; this is Wino. But, with the release of the humble but legendary musician's new solo album, "Adrift", a side of the man that most haven't heard is being uncovered for the first time.

Answering the call from his friends and supporters to record an acoustic solo album following the sudden and tragic passing of friend and bandmate Jon Blank, who appeared on Wino's first "solo release," "Punctuated Equilibrium", in 2009, he set to work on his most personal and powerful recording to date. "Adrift" is a revealing alternative view of this underground legend’s personality and history. Stripped down to the bare minimum — just his voice and his guitar — the songs on "Adrift" follow classic American songwriting ideals offering a compelling mixture of emotion and storytelling.

Wino is a man on his own in a boat without sails. He's fighting against tides and storms, enjoying the moments of bright sunshine; bound to the will of something external — the wind, destiny and the drift. Easily his most heartfelt and personal material to be recorded to date, the twelve tracks on "Adrift" help elevate this already iconic musician to a new level of storytelling, setting Wino up to fall right in line with greats like Johnny Cash, Woodie Guthrie, Neil Young, Bob Dylan and other classic American songwriters.

"Adrift" track listing:

01. Adrift
02. I Don't Care
03. Hold On Love
04. Mala Suerte
05. Old And Alone
06. Iron Horse/Born To Lose
07. Suzane's Song
08. DBear
09. Whatever
10. Shot In The Head
11. O.B.E.
12. Green Speed

"Adrift" is set for official release on respected German label Exile On Mainstream Records on March 8 in North America, the label now distributed domestically by E1 Entertainment. A limited-edition vinyl version of the album featuring extended liner notes and more is to be released in the U.S. on January 18 by Volcom Entertainment.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).