WILLIAM SHATNER's Version Of BLACK SABBATH's 'Iron Man': Studio Footage Posted Online

Legendary actor William Shatner will release his new space-themed concept album entitled "Seeking Major Tom" on October 11 via the Los Angeles-based label Cleopatra Records. Comprised of 19 "interpretations" of classic intergalactic rock anthems, the release features guest appearances by Ritchie Blackmore (RAINBOW, DEEP PURPLE), Ian Paice (DEEP PURPLE), Zakk Wylde (BLACK LABEL SOCIETY, OZZY OSBOURNE), Carmine Appice (VANILLA FUDGE, ROD STEWART, OZZY OSBOURNE), Mike Inez (ALICE IN CHAINS) and Michael Schenker (MSG, UFO, SCORPIONS).

Of Wylde, Shatner previously said, "He's fantastic! I'm energized." Wylde was thrilled to have the opportunity to work with Shatner and added, "He's super cool, we had an awesome time working together."

"Seeking Major Tom" track listing:

Disc: 1

01. Major Tom (PETER SHILLING)

* Nick Valensi (THE STROKES) on guitar
* Mike Inez (ALICE IN CHAINS) on bass

02. Space Oddity (DAVID BOWIE)

* Ritchie Blackmore (DEEP PURPLE, RAINBOW) on guitar
* Alan Parsons on keyboards

03. In A Little While (U2)

* Manuel Gottsching (ASH RA TEMPEL) on guitar

04. Space Cowboy (STEVE MILLER)

* Brad Paisley on guitar and vocals

05. Space Trucking (DEEP PURPLE)

* Ian Paice (DEEP PURPLE) on drums
* Johnny Winter on guitar

06. Rocket Man (ELTON JOHN)

* Steve Hillage (GONG) on guitar

07. She Blinded Me With Science (THOMAS DOLBY)

* Bootsy Collins on bass
* Patrick Moraz (YES, MOODY BLUES) on keyboards/synthesizers

08. Walking On The Moon (THE POLICE)

* Toots (TOOTS & THE MAYTALS) on vocals

09. Spirit In The Sky (NORMAN GREENBAUM)

* Peter Frampton on guitar

10. Bohemian Rhapsody (QUEEN)

* John Wetton (ASIA) on bass and vocals

11. Silver Machine (HAWKWIND)

* Wayne Kramer (MC5) on guitar

12. Mrs. Major Tom

* Sheryl Crow on vocals

Disc: 2

01. Empty Glass (THE TEA PARTY)

* Michael Schenker (MSG, UFO, SCORPIONS) on guitar

02. Lost In The Stars (FRANK SINATRA version)

* Ernie Watts on saxophone

03. Learning to Fly (PINK FLOYD)

* Edgar Froese (TANGERINE DREAM) on guitar and keyboards

04. Mr. Spaceman (THE BYRDS)

* Dave Davies (THE KINKS) on guitar

05. Twilight Zone (GOLDEN EARRING)

* Warren Haynes (GOV'T MULE, ALLMAN BROTHERS) on guitar

06. Struggle (original track William Shatner / Adam Hamilton)

07. Iron Man (BLACK SABBATH)

* Zakk Wylde (BLACK LABEL SOCIETY, OZZY OSBOURNE) on guitar and vocals

08. Planet Earth (DURAN DURAN)

* Steve Howe (YES) on guitar

Video footage of laying down his vocals on the "Iron Man" cover can be seen below.

William Shatner laying down "Iron Man" vocals:

"Iron Man" (BLACK SABBATH cover) audio stream:

Photo/video credit: Eric Hendrikx


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).