WHITESNAKE's 'The Purple Album: First-Week Sales Revealed

WHITESNAKE's 'The Purple Album: First-Week Sales Revealed

WHITESNAKE's "The Purple Album", which revisits singer David Coverdale's time as the frontman for DEEP PURPLE's "Burn", "Stormbringer" and "Come Taste The Band" studio albums, sold around 6,900 copies in the United States in its first week of release to land at position No. 84 on The Billboard 200 chart (which includes stream activity).

Other "The Purple Album" first-week chart positions:

#8: Japan
#9: Finland
#11: Switzerland
#13 in Germany
#17: Czech Republic
#18: Sweden
#18: United Kingdom
#24: The Netherlands
#34: Norway

"The Snakes and I are thrilled with the incredibly positive response to 'The Purple Album'," says Coverdale. "Our sincere thanks to ALL for the amazing support we're receiving for the album and 'The Purple Tour'!"

WHITESNAKE is planning to release a limited-edition box set of "The Purple Album" on June 30. The box set includes the deluxe edition of the CD alongside a 180-gram, 2-LP vinyl version, a poster and sticker as well as a limited-edition lithograph and can be ordered here. The 180-gram vinyl, also available as a stand-alone piece and can be ordered here.

WHITESNAKE has released four different videos (a combination of traditional music videos and static YouTube clips) for songs from "The Purple Album". Added together, these videos total have received over a million plays and counting, showing that fans new and old still love this iconic material, band and vocalist.

The current WHITESNAKE lineup features David Coverdale on vocals, Reb Beach and Joel Hoekstra on guitars, Michael Devin on bass and Tommy Aldridge on drums.

WHITESNAKE will hit the road this month in support of "The Purple Album". The 42-city trek kicks off on May 28 in Airway Heights, Washington and runs through the summer, wrapping up on August 16 in St. Charles, Missouri.

WHITESNAKE was formed in England in 1978 by Coverdale. The band has released multi-platinum selling albums throughout the years and is known for such hits as "Slide It In", "Here I Go Again", "Still Of The Night" and "Is This Love".

"The Purple Album" track listing:

01. Burn
02. You Fool No One (interpolating Itchy Fingers)
03. Love Child
04. Sail Away
05. The Gypsy
06. Lady Double Dealer
07. Mistreated
08. Holy Man
09. Might Just Take Your Life
10. You Keep On Moving
11. Soldier Of Fortune
12. Lay Down, Stay Down
13. Stormbringer

Deluxe edition bonus tracks:

14. Lady Luck
15. Comin' Home

DVD content:

* "Lady Double Dealer" - Music Video
* "Sail Away" - Mix Music Video
* "Stormbringer" - Music Video
* "Soldier Of Fortune" - Music Video
* "The Purple Album" Behind The Scenes
* "The Purple Album" EPK



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).