WHITESNAKE's JOEL HOEKSTRA Releases Music Video For 'Finish Line' From New JOEL HOEKSTRA'S 13 Album

WHITESNAKE's JOEL HOEKSTRA Releases Music Video For 'Finish Line' From New JOEL HOEKSTRA'S 13 Album

Joel Hoekstra, best known to rock fans as the current guitarist for WHITESNAKE and TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA (and also known for his work with NIGHT RANGER and the Broadway show "Rock Of Ages"), will release his second album, "Running Games", from his electrifying solo project JOEL HOEKSTRA'S 13 on February 12. Joined by Russell Allen (vocals), Tony Franklin (bass), Vinny Appice (drums) and Derek Sherinian (keyboards), Joel and company pick up where his debut, "Dying To Live", left off. The official music video for the disc's second single, "Finish Line", can be seen below.

Hoekstra once again handles the bulk of the creative process, overseeing production, songwriting and arranging (music and lyrics), and crafting his vision for this powerful hard rock gem. Add Chris Collier's masterful mixing and the result is '70s/'80s classic hard rock with 2020s muscle. The amazing Jeff Scott Soto also lends a helping hand with background vocals.

Says Joel: "Years ago, I released three solo albums that were mainly instrumental guitar music. With JOEL HOEKSTRA'S 13, I have started to work on something that showcases my production, writing, and playing in the genre that I'm known for, which is melodic hard rock."

Like "Dying to Live", "Running Games" can be described as "DIO-ish at its heaviest," but is also influenced by the blues-based sound of WHITESNAKE as well as melodic bands like FOREIGNER, JOURNEY and the like. Hoekstra says: "'Hard to Say Goodbye' definitely represents the more melodic sound of the album, but rock fans can also look forward to some aggressive tracks."

On "Running Games", lyrically Joel focuses on escaping problems both past and present by providing playful, imaginary, and serious takes on the situations.

Track listing:

01. Finish Line
02. I'm Gonna Lose It
03. Hard To Say Goodbye
04. How Do You
05. Heart Attack
06. Fantasy
07. Lonely Days
08. Reach The Sky
09. Cried Enough For You
10. Take What's Mine
11. Running Games
12. Lay Down Your Love (bonus track; digital)


* Russell Allen (SYMPHONY X, ADRENALINE MOB) - lead vocals, backing vocals
* Vinny Appice (ex-BLACK SABBATH, DIO) - drums
* Tony Franklin (ex-THE FIRM, BLUE MURDER) - bass
* Jeff Scott Soto (SONS OF APPOLLO, TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA) - backing vocals

Special guests:

* Lenny Castro (TOTO) - percussion
* Chloe Lowery (TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA) - backing vocals
* Dave Eggar (EVANESCENCE, COLDPLAY) - cello
* Katie Kresek (Adele, Five For Fighting) - violin, viola


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).