VREID: 'The Reap' Video Released

"The Reap", the new video from Norwegian black 'n' roll legion VREID, can be seen below. The song comes off the band's new full-length album, "Welcome Farewell", which is set for North American release on March 5 via Indie Recordings. Cold and compelling, the follow-up to 2011's "V", which Decibel magazine called "VREID's finest hour," was recorded at bassist Hváll's own Studio 1184.

Described by Metal Hammer as a "unique time-travel in metal," commending their merge of '70s rock, '80s classic metal and Norwegian black metal, with the eight-track "Welcome Farewell" VREID again add a new twist to their already difficult-to-pinpoint sound. Hváll says of the new material, "It's been a lot of work, but we are utterly pleased with the result. 'Dark,' 'heavy' and 'VREID' are the three keywords to describe it."

"Welcome Farewell" track listing:

01. The Ramble
02. The Way Of The Serpent
03. The Devil's Hand
04. Welcome Farewell
05. The Reap
06. Sights of Old
07. Black Waves
08. At The Brook

VREID formed in 2004 following the demise of ''Sognametal" legends WINDIR. Some described their music as a fusion of WINDIR's ambiance, the rawness of Norwegian black metal and the molten groove of SEPULTURA, METALLICA and MOTÖRHEAD blended with historically inspired lyrics. Their third and fourth offerings, "I Krig" and "Milorg", were both concept albums based around the liberation work in Norway during World War II. Liberation was also the keyword on "V", but put in a broader historical/philosophic perspective. The lyrics on "Welcome Farewell" describe a lifecycle through a series of short stories, seen from an existential point of view and, inspired by Hváll's own local community with its nature, architecture and historical artists such as Arne Garborg and Otto Valstad, are more personal than ever before.


Hváll - Bass
Sture - Vocals/Guitar
Strom - Guitar
Steingrim - Drums


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).