VIRGIN STEELE: Two New Songs Available For Streaming

Two songs from the VIRGIN STEELE's forthcoming eleventh album, "Visions of Eden - The Lilith Project - A Barbaric Romantic Movie of the Mind""Immortal I Stand (The Birth Of Adam)" and "The Hidden God" — have been made available for streaming. Check them out:

"Immortal I Stand (The Birth Of Adam)" : Windows Media, Real Media
"The Hidden God": Windows Media, Real Media

"Visions of Eden - The Lilith Project - A Barbaric Romantic Movie of the Mind" is scheduled for release on September 8 via Sanctuary. Check out the album's cover artwork at this location.

"Visions of Eden - The Lilith Project - A Barbaric Romantic Movie of the Mind" track listing:

01. Immortal I Stand (The Birth of Adam)
02. Adorned With the Rising Cobra
03. The Inefable Name
04. Black Light on Black
05. Bonedust
06. Angel of Death
07. God Above God
08. The Hidden God
09. Childslayer
10. When Dusk Fell
11. Visions of Eden

VIRGIN STEELE's new album is said to be "quite epic," clocking in at 79 minutes and 57 seconds.

VIRGIN STEELE's last studio release, "Book of Burning", came out in 2002.

VIRGIN STEELE frontman David DeFeis was the featured guest on "The Real Radio Show" on WLIR 107.1 FM on June 25. DeFeis discussed music, life and "Visions of Eden". A few samples of some of the new songs were aired as well. Download an MP3 file containing the audio of the program at this location.

In a recent interview with Metal Asylum, DeFeis said about the upcoming CD, "It is perhaps even darker than the darkest VIRGIN STEELE moments. It is more nocturnal, autumnal, celestial, vampiric, paganistic, lunar, underground, and, in general, more extreme. The brutality is, if possible, even more brutal (especially mentally speaking), and the tender moments are incredibly melancholy, tortured, forlorn and torn. It is a music full of eternal longing, suffering and regret. Long smoldering passions, lust and despair ignite, consume and die... In the end... a type of hope arises. Not always the 'all conquering triumph ideology,' but a sense of merging with the perennial consciousness of the universe, where one day.... a rebirth of sorts might follow... a beauty born of grief. I am using more piano or acoustic guitar combined with very deeply tuned heavy guitars. Vocally it is very, very melodic, and I can be tender, aggressive, and bluesy. At times the vocal style is like the bluesy singing on the 'Life Among The Ruins' album, only the music and melodies here are very, very different. 'Visions of Eden' is very atmospheric. There are big epic anthemic pieces, with always sing-able and memorable 'hooks,' but there is also a dark, brooding, moody, impressionistic, quality that manifests itself throughout. There is over-the-top orchestration yet simplicity. Nothing is done for the sake of overindulgence, or complexity for complexity's sake. Everything is in proportion, balance and effective for the feelings/sentiments in question. It is a new development, I think. A further progression of my compositional style. These works are epic, bombastic and totally full-on metal, sort of like Conan the Barbarian meets Wagner in a dark, black cave! Perhaps it sounds like...cold moonlight on a haunted cathedral. It screams out like a frightening apparition, a banshee, or it moans tragically like the wailing of the wind through accursed ruins... Images of stark bare trees, clutching at a dark, pregnant, grey/black cloud covered sky while fog stalks the streets are conjured. Several tracks contain a very eerie, haunting quality that would be very much at home in a horror movie such as 'The Omen', 'The Ninth Gate' or 'The Exorcist'! All are extremely heavy, moody and melodic. It is music to accompany either the ending of the world, the birthing of a new world, or both!!!"

(Thanks: Alan a.k.a. tehwtf)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).