VIPER SOLFA To Begin Recording Debut Album In May

VIPER SOLFA To Begin Recording Debut Album In May

VIPER SOLFA, the new band featuring Ronny Thorsen (TRAIL OF TEARS), Miriam "Sphinx" Renvåg (RAM-ZET, ENDLING), Morfeus (MAYHEM, LIMBONIC ART, DIMENSION F3H), Endre Moe (TRAIL OF TEARS, DIMENSION F3H, CUTTHROAT) and Bjørn Dugstad Rønnow (TRAIL OF TEARS, SPHERE), will enter the studio in May to start recording its as-yet-untitled debut album. Drums will be tracked at Strand Studio in Oslo, Norway before moving on to bass, guitars and keyboards/orchestration recordings. Vocals will be laid down at Soundsuite Studios in Marseille, France with producer Terje Refsnes. The band states: "Stoked to get this train rolling!"

A demo version of the VIPER SOLFA song "Whispers And Storms" can be streamed below.

VIPER SOLFA emerged in 2013 as an idea from TRAIL OF TEARS singer and frontman Ronny Thorsen. After nearly two decades of albums, worldwide touring, as well as guest appearances for TRISTANIA and BLOOD RED THRONE, the time seemed right to head into different musical territories. Thorsen was quickly joined by fellow TRAIL OF TEARS members Endre Moe on bass and Bjørn Dugstad Rønnow on drums. Not long after, the three of them found themselves in the creative company of Morfeus, who immediately took the role of main composer as well as handling guitar, keyboard and orchestration duties. With the material at hand, it became obvious that the sound needed a diverse, intense and highly skilled female voice and after auditioning over two dozen singers from around the globe, Miriam "Sphinx" Renvåg was recruited as the final piece of the puzzle.

With a lineup consisting of established and well-known members from vast musical backgrounds, the result is a merciless musical beast combining the best of the individual members' musical history. Nearly a year has been spent crafting the band's innovative brand of extreme metal, or as the band so fittingly labels it: poison music.


* Ronny Thorsen (TRAIL OF TEARS) - Vocals
* Miriam "Sphinx" Renvåg (RAM-ZET, ENDLING) - Vocals
* Morfeus (MAYHEM, LIMBONIC ART, DIMENSION F3H) - Guitar, Keyboards, Orchestration
* Bjørn Dugstad Rønnow (TRAIL OF TEARS, SPHERE) - Drums


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).