VIKING SKULL To Release 'Heavy Metal Thunder' In October

Restricted Release has set an October 26 the North American release date for "Heavy Metal Thunder", a special reissue package from England's VIKING SKULL. Remastered and featuring all-new artwork, "Heavy Metal Thunder" combines the band's popular debut album, "Born In Hell", and the "Chapter One" EP, both previously unavailable through proper American and Canadian retail outlets. The album also includes five bonus songs and will precede a new, still-untitled EP planned for release in early 2011.

VIKING SKULL, featuring vocalist/guitarist Roddy Stone, guitarists Dom Wallace and Frank Regan, bassist Kevin Waldie, with sole-American drummer Jess Margera (CKY, THE COMPANY BAND), found initial American interest when the song "Skull Heaven" appeared on volume one of Bam Margera's "Viva La Bands" compilation series in 2005. A second song, "Blackened Sunrise", would follow on volume two in 2007. Early fans would have to wait until the winter of 2008, however, to witness their first SKULL show; the band finally landing on U.S. shores to share the stage on a short east coast tour with CLUTCH.

Stone recalls, "Our tour with CLUTCH was the first time for us playing the States. It quickly became quite clear to us that America loves big riffs through big amps and that's what we're about. No fancy haircuts, eyeliner, or spooky clothes, just balls-out, meat-and-potatoes heavy rock. That tour was one of the best we've done in terms of crowd reaction, and on top of that we got to see CLUTCH every night."

"Heavy Metal Thunder" comes nearly two years to the day after the release of "Doom, Gloom, Heartache & Whiskey" (Powerage); an album that was embraced by international media on its release in 2008.

"We tend to think, if it ain't broke don't try and fix it," notes Stone about the band's straight-forward heavy metal anthems. "We like to think back to the day when men were men, and amps where amps. The time when having a good riff/song was important and had nothing to do with posing, we're a proper band with proper tunes."

"Heavy Metal Thunder" track listing:

01. Beers, Drugs And Bitches
02. Wizard's Sleeve
03. Frostbite
04. Rape Pillage And Burn
05. Crazy Trucker
06. Skull Heaven
07. Born In Hell
08. Crank The Volume
09. Red Hot Woman
10. Seedealer
11. Heavy Metal Thunder
12. Saddle Up
13. Double Or Quits (demo version)
14. Rock And Roll Suicide
15. Conquer The World
16. Baby Let Me Know
17. Skulls & Whiskey
18. Dirty Dirty Hole
19. Inject My Woman (With Love)
20. You Can't Kill Rock & Roll

For more information, visit


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).