Video: AVANTASIA Performs In New York City

Video: AVANTASIA Performs In New York City

Fan-filmed video footage of EDGUY frontman Tobias Sammet's AVANTASIA project performing on April 15 at Playstation Theater in New York City can be seen below.

The AVANTASIA lineup for the show consisted of the following musicians:

* Tobias Sammet - Vocals
* Michael Kiske - Vocals
* Eric Martin - Vocals
* Ronnie Atkins - Vocals
* Jorn Lande - Vocals
* Amanda Somerville - Backing vocal/vocals
* Herbie Langhans - Backing vocal/vocals
* Sascha Paeth - Guitars
* Oliver Hartmann - Guitars
* Miro Rodenberg - Keyboards
* Andre Neigenfind - Bass
* Felix Bohnke - Drums

AVANTASIA released its seventh studio album, "Ghostlights", on January 29 via Nuclear Blast. The twelve-song CD was produced by Tobias and Sascha Paeth at Gatestudio in Wolfsburg, Germany. Paeth engineered and mixed "Ghostlights", while the mastering was done by Michael Rodenberg.

AVANTASIA released a digital single, "Mystery Of A Blood Red Rose", on December 11, 2015.

Commented Tobias: "In my humble opinion, ['Mystery Of A Blood Red Rose'] is the perfect overture to the seventy-minute journey which the full album is going to be.

"Although 'Mystery Of A Blood Red Rose' is a rather short composition compared to most other AVANTASIA songs, I wanted to embellish and amplify it with flamboyance and all AVANTASIA trademarks. I wanted to make it a detailed piece of fantasy art, but at the same time it was a big challenge to make that painting look inherently consistent if you view it from the distance. The layered choirs took us forever to record and yet nothing distracts from the main theme and flow of the song. Every time you give it a listen, you will discover something else going on.

"I have a feeling that I have never managed to create such an epic and dreamy atmosphere in just four minutes. I've gotta admit I am slightly proud of it!"

"Ghostlights" features guest appearances by:

* Geoff Tate (QUEENSRĊ¸CHE)
* Marco Hietala (NIGHTWISH)
* Michael Kiske (HELLOWEEN)
* Ronnie Atkins (PRETTY MAIDS)
* Bob Catley (MAGNUM)
* Jorn Lande (MASTERPLAN)
* Bruce Kulick (KISS)
* Robert Mason (WARRANT)
* Oliver Hartmann
* Sascha Paeth

The instrumentalists on "Ghostlights" are as follows:

* Sascha Paeth - rhythm guitar, lead guitar, bass, additional keys
* Michael Rodenberg - orchestration, keys
* Tobias Sammet - additional keys and bass
* Bruce Kulick - lead guitar
* Oliver Hartmann - lead guitar
* Felix Bohnke - drums



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).