Video: ACE FREHLEY Performs 1978 Solo Album In Its Entirety At NEW JERSEY KISS EXPO

Video: ACE FREHLEY Performs 1978 Solo Album In Its Entirety At NEW JERSEY KISS EXPO

Former KISS guitarist Ace Frehley celebrated the 40th anniversary of his acclaimed solo debut by performing the album for the first time in its entirety on the final day of the New Jersey Kiss Expo 2018, which took place December 7-9 at the Hilton Parsippany in Parsippany, New Jersey.

His setlist was as follows:

01. Rip It Out
02. Speedin' Back To My Baby
03. Snowblind
04. Ozone
05. What's On Your Mind?
06. New York Groove
07. I'm In Need Of Love
08. Wiped-Out
09. Fractured Mirror

Other guests that appeared at the event included Lita Ford, Bobby Rock (VINNIE VINCENT INVASION, NELSON), Lydia Criss and artist Ken Kelly ("Destroyer", "Love Gun").

Co-produced with frequent KISS collaborator Eddie Kramer, "Ace Frehley" is widely hailed as the best of the four KISS solo albums released simultaneously in 1978. It peaked at No. 26 on the Billboard 200 and outsold the solo efforts of his three bandmates.

Regarding how the decision to perform all of "Ace Frehley" came about, the guitarist told BUILD Series: "It came from the people putting the event together and some of the people who work for me. They all said it would be a great idea, and I said, 'Yeah, I think it would be,' so we're going to make it happen."

In addition to a trio of songs ("Snow Blind", "Ozone", "Wiped-Out") that reflect Frehley's extracurricular interests at the time, the album includes a cover of HELLO's 1975 song "New York Groove", which reached No. 13 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart and remains a staple of the guitarist's live performances today.

During a recent "live conversation" at Hollywood's Musicians Institute, Frehley discussed his goals for the album. "I just wanted to make the best record possible," he said. "I had a revelation after all four albums came out and mine became the most successful — pretty much there's this voice in my head going, 'Ace, you know you're a lot more creative away from those guys than you are with them.' That was kind of the beginning of the end for me, because I realized that I could make a lot better music away from Paul [Stanley] and Gene [Simmons] and Peter [Criss] than I could with them. But I was also drinking and doing a lot of drugs, so that could have affected my decision-making."

Frehley's latest solo album, "Spaceman", was released on October 19 via eOne.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).