VICIOUS RUMORS: New Video Interview Posted Online

Reini of webzine recently conducted an interview with Geoff Thorpe (guitar) and Larry Howe (drums) of San Francisco Bay Area metal veterans VICIOUS RUMORS. You can now watch the chat below.

VICIOUS RUMORS's latest album, "Razorback Killers", was released in Europe on March 28 (except in Germany, where it arrived three days earlier) and in the U.S. on April 5 via SPV/Steamhammer.

Vocalist Brian Allen and guitarist Kiyoshi Morgan are along with guitarist Geoff Thorpe, bassist Stephen Goodwin and drummer Larry Howe, of course two of the elemental parameters which make "Razorback Killers" such a dynamic powerhouse of an album. Three other musicians deserve to be mentioned: the guest guitarists Mark McGee, Eric Peterson and Brad Gillis. "Isn't it fantastic that Mark returned and contributed those amazing solos on two songs?" Thorpe asked. McGee was a band member between 1986 and 1995 and has launched veritable guitar solos on "Blood Stained Sunday" and "Pearl Of Wisdom". "Mark and I trading solos just like the old days," enthused Thorpe, who also can't hold back his delight at Eric Peterson's impassioned solo passages on "Murderball". "Eric has been a friend for many years and is the driving force in TESTAMENT," Thorpe said. "His solo in 'Murderball' is a perfect combination of the whole energy of VICIOUS RUMORS and TESTAMENT, merged into one song." And last but not least: Brad Gillis, who otherwise makes his living as one of the band leaders in NIGHT RANGER, is one of Geoff Thorpe's close friends and already delivered a number of great solos on VICIOUS RUMORS previous album, "Warball". This time around, Gillis contributed a matchless as Thorpe calls it "classic tremolo guitar solo" in "Deal With The Devil". "I remember well when he replaced the late Randy Rhoads in Ozzy Osbourne's band. Brad has my utmost respect as a friend and colleague," Thorpe said.

"Razorback Killers" was recorded at Trident Studios in Pacheco, California with producers Juan Urteaga and Geoff Thorpe.

The track listing is as follows:

01. Murderball
02. Black
03. Razorback Blade
04. Blood Stained Sunday
05. Pearl Of Wisdom
06. All I Want Is You
07. Axe To Grind
08. Let The Garden Burn
09. Rite Of Devastation
10. Deal With The Devil


Larry Howe - Drums
Kiyoshi Morgan - Guitar
Stephen Goodwin - Bass
Geoff Thorpe - Guitar




Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).