VADER: New Video Interview Posted Online

The German edition of Metal Hammer magazine recently conducted an interview with guitarist/vocalist Piotr "Peter" Wiwczarek of Polish extreme metallers VADER. Watch the chat at this location.

Behind-the-scenes footage from the making of VADER's new video, "Never Say My Name", can be viewed below. Inspired by Patrick Graham's bestselling book "L'Évangile Selon Satan" (translation: "The Gospel According to Satan"), the clip tells an alternate story of the death of a messiah who curses humanity before his death on the cross and chooses life in Hell instead of Heaven. Perhaps because of its "controversial" title and content, this book is not available in the U.S. in English, but a French version can be ordered from Canada.

Commented Wiwczarek: "We started the video shoot on August 15, at about noon. That day we were in the Last Supper and the slaughter of the Messiah's followers scenes, while during the night we were to take some bluebox and Janus shots. The same day in Wroclaw, the masses came to see a light-and-water show taking place just 200 meters from the place of our shooting the 'Bible scenes.' Lots of people were wondering, 'What's being shot here? A new TV series? The Bible stories? Or maybe a Discovery program?' Despite 12 hours of hard work and constant stage make-up changes, we managed to finish before 1 a.m. We went through it without a bloodshed — well, despite the Last Supper scene... but the blood was a fake.

"The next day we took the martyr shots and the Romans' armament ones, which were crucial for 'Necropolis.' Sunday: the unbearable heat and another couple of hours in the nearby gravel pit. It wasn't so easy that day. The owner of the place, who at first was eager to rent it to the Inbornmedia crew, had enough when it came to the crucifixion, burning, and the transformation of the Messiah into Janus. My roars and the burning crucifix brought about an immediate response of the security guards. They called the police and we were supposed to leave the gravel pit at once. Fortunately, we managed to 'steal' one more hour before the cops arrived. There only remained ashes. And we, together with the Romans, came back to the hotel at about. 2 a.m. And there were still the final scenes left. These we're going to finish on tomorrow... but in a different place.

"The trailer is just a 'taste' of what's gonna to happen. Janus is Jesus after he cursed humanity. After Jesus [played by Peter W.] died on the cross, he changed name to Janus [also played by Peter W.] and went down to Hell to rule in the Pits, where he stayed forever. This means Jesus was never resurrected and this is the strongest point made in the story."

"Never Say My Name" comes off VADER's new album, "Necropolis", which will be released in North America on September 22. The CD was recorded at Hertz studios in Bialystok, Poland with the Wieslawski Bros.. Tue Madsen, who previously worked with such bands as MOONSPELL, CATARACT, HEAVEN SHALL BURN and many more, mixed the CD at his Antfarm Studios in Denmark.

"Necropolis" will be released in two formats: a regular jewel-case (11 tracks only) and a limited edition digipack with the following bonus tracks + bonus DVD:

01. Devilizer
02. Rise Of The Undead
03. Never Say My Name
04. Blast
05. The Seal
06. Dark Heart
07. Impure
08. Summoning The Future
09. Anger
10. We Are The Horde
11. When The Sun Drowns In Dark

Bonus Tracks:

12) Black Metal (VENOM cover) *
13) Fight Fire With Fire (METALLICA cover) **
* With guest Bart Krysiuk (HERMH)
** With guest Maciek Taff (ROOTWATER, BLACK RIVER)

The bonus DVD features a portion of a benefit show VADER performed at on April 26 in Krakow, Poland for Covan (DECAPITATED). The Studio Club show was recorded by five cameras and has HD quality courtesy of Inbornmedia Company from Wroclaw.

"To Live!!!" bonus DVD track listing:

01. Crucified Ones
02. Black To The Blind
03. The Epitaph
04. Carnal
05. Wings
06. This Is The War
07. Lead Us!!!

Behind the scenes:



Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).