UNHOLY: 'New Life Behind Closed Eyes' Artwork Unveiled

The Aeron Alfrey-designed cover artwork for "New Life Behind Closed Eyes", the new album from the Syracuse, New York-based quintet UNHOLY, can be viewed below.

"The cover as well as the interior art has really captured the mood of the lyrical content of our new record," says guitarist Jonathan Dennison. "Aeron went above and beyond bring these ideas to life."

Due on May 12 via Prosthetic Records, the follow-up to 2007's "Blood of the Medusa" (Lambgoat Records) was recorded at Syracuse's Moresound Studios (ED GEIN) and sees new vocalist Billy Price paint a scathing portrait of mankind's failures and shortcomings. The album's concept, written by Jonathan Dennison, revolves around an end-time narrative of the final days of humanity delivered by its own hand. Richly detailed artwork furthers the album's unsettling mood, but ultimately, it's the music within — a very heavy take on the northeastern metal sound, with strong riffs, intense vocals and sharp soloing — that makes UNHOLY impossible to ignore.

"New Life Behind Closed Eyes" track listing:

01. Seeker Immortal
02. Children of Eternal Sleep
03. These Wounds Never Heal
04. Into The Flesh Of Another
05. The Blinding Light
06. Look To The Blood
07. No Faith
08. The Followers
09. Behind The Veil Of Darkness
10. New Life Behind Closed Eyes

A track from the CD, "Seeker Immortal", is available for streaming on the band's MySpace page.

"We've poured a lot of blood into this new record and hope this will be a soundscape to your nightmares," states Dennison. "The aggression and energy of UNHOLY has truly been captured in 'New Life Behind Closed Eyes'. This record is for people who are looking for something more in heavy music. Extreme music fans old and new prepare to get your faces shredded off!"

UNHOLY will support ALL THAT REMAINS tonight (April 15) at Lost Horizon in Syracuse and perform at the New England Metal and Hardcore Festival on Saturday (April 18). The band's tour with EARTH CRISIS kicks off May 2 in Fredericksburg, Virginia.

"We couldn't be more excited about our first tour off our new record being with EARTH CRISIS," Dennison says. "Playing with ALL THAT REMAINS is gonna shred too! We're really psyched on playing New England Metal Fest this year, as it's amazing to think about the great bands that share the stage every year and for us to be a part of it."

HardTimes.ca conducted an interview with Jonathan Dennison on December 20, 2008 in the group's hometown. Watch the 10-minute chat below.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).