UMBRA VITAE Feat. CONVERGE Frontman JACOB BANNON: Listen To 'Mantra Of Madness' Song

UMBRA VITAE Feat. CONVERGE Frontman JACOB BANNON: Listen To 'Mantra Of Madness' Song

CONVERGE frontman Jacob Bannon has joined forces with guitarists Sean Martin (TWITCHING TONGUES, ex-HATEBREED) and Mike McKenzie (THE RED CHORD, STOMACH EARTH), bassist Greg Weeks (THE RED CHORD) and drummer Jon Rice (UNCLE ACID & THE DEADBEATS, ex-JOB FOR A COWBOY) in a new death metal project called UMBRA VITAE (named after a poem by Georg Heym, first published in 1912). UMBRA VITAE's debut album, "Shadow Of Life", will be released on May 1 via Bannon's own Deathwish Inc. label.

Recorded and mixed by Kurt Ballou at GodCity Studios (with guitars and bass recorded by McKenzie at The Black Coast), "Shadow Of Life" contains 10 songs which "traverse from blackened to brutal from one moment to the next," according to a press release.

UMBRA VITAE's latest single, "Mantra Of Madness", can be streamed below.

UMBRA VITAE formed as Bannon, McKenzie and Martin — who all have roots in aggressive music — warmed up for "Wear Your Wounds" rehearsals by playing heavy riffs. Following the "Wear Your Wounds" album cycle, the trio recruited Weeks and Rice for the rhythm section to back their aggressive riffs and UMBRA VITAE was born.

Driven by traditional death metal riffage coupled with inhuman percussion, "Shadow Of Life" is an all-encompassing entry point for UMBRA VITAE.

"I absolutely adore being in CONVERGE — it's been a part of the fabric of my being since I was a kid," Bannon tells Revolver. "I've spent more than half my life in it. But it's also not really a metal band, although it has metal leanings at times and it's hyper-aggressive. This is the closest thing I've done that's rooted in more traditional death metal, at least in terms of speed and ferocity and heaviness."

The "Shadow Of Life" cover art was created by Janusz Jurek and can be seen below.

"Shadow Of Life" track listing:

01. Decadence Dissolves
02. Ethereal Emptiness
03. Atheist Aesthetic
04. Mantra Of Madness
05. Fear Is A Fossil
06. Polluted Paradise
07. Intimate Inferno
08. Return To Zero
09. Blood Blossom
10. Shadow Of Life

Expect a lot more to come from this supergroup, and look for more songs from their ferocious debut album to surface soon.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).