TROUBLE Pound Chicago Into Submission!

The reunited TROUBLE—guitarist Rick Wartell, vocalist Eric Wagner, guitarist Bruce Franklin, drummer Jeff Olson and bassist Ron Holzner—performed an eight-song reunion set at Night Cap in Chicago (5007 W. Irving Park Road) on Saturday, January 26th, before PA problems abruptly ended the show ¼ of the way into the group's cover of BLACK SABBATH's “Children Of The Grave”. Here was TROUBLE's full set list for the night:

01. R.I.P (intro only)
02. Come Touch The Sky
03. Memories Garden
04. At The End Of My Daze
05. The Wolf
06. Psychotic Reaction
07. Misery Shows (Act II)
08. The Tempter
09. Going Home (“new” song)
10. Children Of The Grave (BLACK SABBATH—1/4 song only)

According to attendees at the show, TROUBLE were in fine form, with frontman Eric Wagner (now sporting a short haircut) sounding great on all the classics as well as the one previously unreleased track performed (at least as far as the official albums are concerned), “Goin' Home”, which is being described as a “Manic Frustration-era-style cut, but only heavier”. Die-hard fans of TROUBLE will of course recall that a 1994 demo version of “Goin' Home” (recorded after the band's split with American Recordings) was included on a limited-edition EP entitled One For The Road, which was being sold on the group's 1994 European tour. This particular version, which was never made available anywhere else, can be downloaded from the unofficial TROUBLE site at this location. As previously reported, TROUBLE have thus far written nearly an album's worth of material for the band's long-awaited comeback CD (the follow-up to 1995's Plastic Green Head), tentatively entitled Seven, but will continue to compose tracks for the foreseeable future before making plans to enter the studio to record the effort. In a recent radio interview, Wartell revealed that the quintet have received offers to play the summer festivals in Europe, but indicated that they would like to finish the album first before agreeing to partake in any of the festivities. A full headlining show may also take place this spring in Chicago.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).