THE WOUNDED KINGS To Release 'Consolamentum' In February

THE WOUNDED KINGS To Release 'Consolamentum' In February

Candlelight Records has set a February 24 as the North American release date of "Consolamentum", the label debut from English doom metallers THE WOUNDED KINGS. Produced by Chris Fielding (ELECTRIC WIZARD), the album will be available for preorders via iTunes and other digital platforms beginning January 13.

Discussing the CD earlier this year, guitarist and band founder Steve Mills revealed: "this album will be our most expansive and heaviest." Indeed it is. The album's opening song, "Gnosis", clocks in at a mammoth 13 minutes. From there, it latches on to your soul as it travels a dark and desolate sonic terrain.

"The entire album was recorded and mixed in six days during the hottest week of the year in a studio miles from anything in the Cornish countryside," shares producer Chris Fielding. "Recorded completely live, it captures the natural feel of the band. I find it to be a real step forward musically and very rewarding."

Overcoming numerous lineups since their formation in 2005, Mills and the rest of the KINGS have amazed audiences with their powerful stage personae. The two-time Roadburn alumni are cherished by attendees and the popular festival promoters, who call the band "British doom of staggering power that is made all the more distinct by the unsettling presence of singer Sharie Neyland, who stands on stage almost trance-like, invoking her lyrics in a chanted voice that holds the entire venue in thrall."

To date, the Dartmoor-based five piece has released three full-length studio albums and a well-received split album with Richmond, Virginia's COUGH. The band has been finding a growing American audience since the release of its 2011 album, "In the Chapel Of The Black Hand". It is the first to feature Neyland.

"Consolamentum" track listing:

01. Gnosis
02. Lost Bride
03. Elige Magistrum
04. Consolamentum
05. Space Conqueror
06. The Silence
07. Sacrifice

THE WOUNDED KINGS is guitarist/keyboardist Steve Mills, vocalist Sharie Neyland, guitarist Alex Kearney, bassist Al Eliadis, and drummer Myke Heath.



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).