THE SEA WITHIN — the new art-rock collective comprise of Roine Stolt (TRANSATLANTIC, THE FLOWER KINGS), Daniel Gildenlöw (PAIN OF SALVATION), Jonas Reingold (STEVE HACKETT, THE FLOWER KINGS, KARMAKANIC, THE TANGENT), Tom Brislin (YES SYMPHONIC, RENAISSANCE, SPIRALING, DEBORAH HARRY) and Marco Minnemann (THE ARISTOCRATS, STEVEN WILSON, UK, JOE SATRIANI) — will release its debut self-titled album on June 22 via InsideOut Music.

Let's get one thing straight from the start. THE SEA WITHIN is more of an amalgamation of some serious talents than a regular "supergroup." These musicians have come together to create a unique album. Guitarist/vocalist Roine Stolt, bassist Jonas Reingold, keyboard player/vocalist Tom Brislin, drummer/vocalist Marco Minnemann and vocalist/guitarist Daniel Gildenlöw have a vast reservoir of experience.

"I suppose it all began to take shape in the autumn of 2016," explains Stolt. "I had a chat with Thomas Waber, the boss at InsideOut Music, about the idea of putting together a new band. I wanted to move in a fresh direction with new collaborations. So Thomas gave me the 'go-ahead' to seek musicians for a new project." First onboard was THE FLOWER KINGS bass player Jonas Reingold. "He is a longtime bandmate and friend and we were also very keen to get keyboardist Tom involved — after seeing his synth pyrotechnics with legends YES 'Symphonic' and with CAMEL. Then we have been a fans of ARISTOCRATS drummer Marco for a long time; I first heard of him 15 years ago and he is a brilliant drummer, unique energy. Then when we discussed ideas for singers, Daniel's name came up, he has such a great range and dynamic voice and we've worked together on and off over the years." Also added later to the band's lineup for live shows was vocalist and guitarist Casey McPherson of FLYING COLORS and ALPHA REV, who also sings a couple of songs on the album.

Initially the band went to Livingston Studios in London last September to begin the process of assembling all the material and recording it for the debut album. "Most of the material you'll hear are really band compositions," says Stolt. "Of course, ideas were triggered by all of us. Sometimes Jonas would come up with a part, chord sequence or tune and then I or Tom would write melody and lyric and some new riff section and Marco enhancing with further musical metric twists and developments. Then Daniel would add or rewrite some of the lyrics, change or add more melodies. Overall, the vast majority of the tracks have been worked on and developed by all of us in one way or another."

The entire recording situation took about six months, and the band also have some very special guests featured on the album.
"We have got Jordan Rudess from DREAM THEATER playing piano on one song," says Stolt. "The legendary Jon Anderson sings on another track, while 'wind ace' Rob Townsend, who plays saxophone and flute with Steve Hackett, is also on the record. Each of them brings a different flavor to the music.

"People have asked me how I would describe what we have done, and it is almost impossible. I would have to say it sounds like…us, THE SEA WITHIN," continued says Stolt. "Our tastes are very eclectic — from prog to jazz to classical, to heavy rock, folk, punk, electronica and pop. We all come from a different background — so here everything goes. This has been about putting those diverse influences into the music. I feel you will hear all that's good about pop — with great melodies and hooks — plus the rawness of metal, improvisations, symphonic and movie soundtracks. We also left room for each of us to take off on flights of instrumental jamming. That was the basic idea, anyway. But until we all got together, we had no idea where it would lead or if it would actually work." The band ended up recording close to two hours of music, and will release it all in June on what will be a self-titled album.

THE SEA WITHIN as a music collective has plans to perform live, and will make its stage debut at Night Of The Prog in Loreley, Germany which happens from July 13-15 and will bring special guests for that evening. "As far as I am concerned, we will try do as much touring as possible," says Stolt. "We have a great band, great label and our agent Rob Palmen onboard. We have great artwork by Marcela Bolivar, all looks bright. However, Daniel will not be able to join us for touring now, as he has commitments with main band PAIN OF SALVATION. With Casey taking the vocal spot, now with us live, we can go out on the road and play this album and beyond and grow as a band. We have so much to offer musically, on record and on stage and I am sure we will develop a lot over the next few years. But 'The Sea Within' album is a great start. I am excited for everyone to hear what we have done and am now thrilled to start working on the songs for the live show."

The album will be available as a special edition 2CD digipak, gatefold 2LP vinyl and 2CD and as digital download.

You can find the full track listing below:

Disc 1:

01. Ashes Of Dawn
02. They Know My Name
03. The Void
04. An Eye For An Eye For An Eye
05. Goodbye
06. Sea Without
07. Broken Cord
08. The Hiding Of The Truth

Disc 2:

01. The Roaring Silence
02. Where Are You Going?
03. Time
04. Denise


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).