'The Osbournes' Gets New Lease On Life On Web

World Entertainment News Network is reporting that MTV will broadcast reality show "The Osbournes" on the Internet as part of a free online channel. The cable network has decided to launch the MTV Overdrive web site to compete with rival firms like Walt Disney and Microsoft, who have already capitalized on the growing number of online viewers.

MTV Overdrive will let users with high-speed computer connections watch music videos and extended programs on demand. The web site is currently being tested and will launch fully on April 25.

Jason Hirschhorn, MTV's senior vice president of digital music and media, says, "It seemed essential to create a new hybrid screen with its own content." And MTV bosses have blasted concerns the Internet channel will draw viewers away from their existing TV stations. MTV president Van Toffler says, "The TV experience is still great. Our ratings are moving higher and we don't fear that."

Tags:

Posted in: News

COMMENTS

To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).