THE FREEZING FOG: New Album Artwork, Track Listing Unveiled

Manchester, UK-based retro rockers THE FREEZING FOG have revealed the artwork (see below) for their upcoming self-titled album. It comes courtesy of UK artist Drew Millward, who has previously worked with the likes of MELVINS, BIG BUSINESS, BARONESS, UNSANE and ARCTIC MONKEYS.

Far surpassing its predecessor, THE FREEZING FOG's second full-length effort features ten songs of "unrelenting passion, fusing SABBATH-tinged groove with an almost pop-like melody," according to a press release.

"The Freezing Fog" track listing:

01. Dusk Chorus Blues
02. The Dweller Upon The Threshold Of Time
03. Eagle
04. Sweet, Sweet Purple
05. A Sleepwalker's Dream
06. Ride Them Gently
07. Virga
08. In The Company Of A Genius
09. Lady Of Sorrow
10. Horizons

Recording for the new CD was completed at Foel Studios in Wales with Chris Fielding (CAPRICORNS, HAWKWIND, PORCUPINE TREE). From there it was mixed in Boston at Godcity Studios by Kurt Ballou of CONVERGE and mastered at New Alliance East by Nick Zampiello, who has worked with the likes of TORCHE, PELICAN and ISIS. An early 2009 release is expected.

Formed in Manchester, United Kingdom during the early part of 2006, THE FREEZING FOG features members of the sorely missed BEECHER.

While BEECHER was all about the cutting edge, THE FREEZING FOG is a retro heavy rock/metal band which effortlessly blends classic rock with pop structures and contemporary metal influences.

With a two-song 7" release on Calculated Risk Products, a full-length LP recorded by Kurt Ballou in Boston, released on Roadkill Records and a split 12" with fellow Eyesofsound band MANATEES all under their belt, the Mancunian five-piece is ready to unleash its second album and Eyesofsound debut.

Over the past year the band have been writing and honing the new material to perfection. Guitarist/backing vocalist and former BEECHER frontman Edward Godby had this to say about it: "Where once THE FOG were pre-occupied with incorporating stoner style groove and epic doom into the musical mix, there is now a definite, more intent focus. Attention has turned entirely to what we do best — tight, '70s influenced hard rock, with a classic British heavy metal edge. This, our eponymous second LP, will serve to define precisely what THE FREEZING FOG was always intended to be about."

For more information, visit


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).