The First Chapter Of AMBERIAN DAWN's Story Is 'Closed'

Finnish symphonic metallers AMBERIAN DAWN have parted ways with singer Heidi Parviainen.

Commented the band: "The first chapter of AMBERIAN DAWN's story is closed. The band and vocalist Heidi Parviainen, who has been a member of AMBERIAN DAWN from the beginning, have decided to part ways.

"The decision to part company at the end of the year was made consensually in early 2012, thus meaning AMBERIAN DAWN's appearance at Metal Female Voices Fest [at the end of October] was their last show together. AMBERIAN DAWN wishes Heidi all the best for her future and thanks her deeply for the work, effort and contribution she provided during all these years.

"Furthermore the band lineup will change since drummer Heikki Saari and guitarist Kasperi Heikkinen are leaving the band and their positions are filled by ex-drummer Joonas Pykälä-aho and ex-guitarist Emil 'Emppu' Pohjalainen. Joonas and Emppu have been around a lot lately and you have seen them on AMBERIAN DAWN's previous European tour in 2011. In fact, Joonas has played on all three European tours of AMBERIAN DAWN so far and Emppu on two. AMBERIAN DAWN wishes Kasperi and Heikki well for their future and successful careers with their new band projects. Your talent and virtuosity was highly appreciated.

"The first chapter of AMBERIAN DAWN lasted five years, brought forth four studio albums, three European tours and about 70 gigs worldwide. This was a great time for everyone involved, but now it's time to move on and continue with a new lineup and new vocalist, who will be announced in December 2012.

"Welcome back on board, Emppu and Joonas!"

AMBERIAN DAWN's "Cold Kiss" video can be seen below. The track, which features a guest appearance by STRATOVARIUS singer Timo Kotipelto, comes off AMBERIAN DAWN's fourth studio album, "Circus Black", which was released in Finland on February 29 via Spinefarm Records. The band's mainman, keyboardist and guitarist Tuomas Seppälä composed all ten songs for the CD and Parviainen penned the lyrics.

"Circus Black" features additional guest appearances by Tuomas Nieminen (ex- ADAMANTRA, THRONE OF CHAOS), Nils Nordling (ex-DREAMTALE, ANIMAL HOUSE) and Jens Johansson (STRATOVARIUS, DIO, YNGWIE MALMSTEEN'S RISING FORCE). Nieminen and Nordling share vocal parts in the song "I Share With You This Dream", Kotipelto sings lead on "Cold Kiss" and Johansson plays a keyboard solo on "Crimson Flower".

"Cold Kiss" video:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).