THE FAMINE: New Song Posted Online

"Ad Mortem", a brand new track from the North Texas death metal outfit THE FAMINE, can heard in the YouTube clip below. The song comes off the band's new album, "The Architects Of Guilt", which will be released on February 15 via Solid State Records. The follow-up to 2008's "The Raven And The Reaping" was produced by D. Braxton Henry (ex-DEVOURMENT) and was mixed by Jason Suecof (THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER, TRIVIUM, DEVILDRIVER).

"The Architects Of Guilt" track listing:

01. The New Hell
02. Ad Mortem
03. We Are The Wolves
04. Turner Classic Diaries
05. Bigger Cages, Longer Chains!
06. The Crown and The Holy See
07. VII The Fraudulent
08. A Pavement Of Good Intentions
09. A Fragile Peace
10. Pyrithion House
11. To The Teeth

According to a press release, "The Architects Of Guilt" "is not a sing-along or a feel-good record; it’s the death rattle and dying breath. THE FAMINE is not here to win popularity contests, simply create metal, red in tooth and claw. The music has become faster, more technical, even abrasive and discomforting, trading shear aggression and energy for the lifeless sweeps and mechanized beats that have come to dominate and dilute the genre. The lyrics forego empty threats and skip the subtleties, calling out the deceit and duplicity of our leaders, and the decay next door masked by a flaking white picket fence and a familiar chemical scent. The band traces the fractures in stone pillars and cracks along the marble walls, sets their tools down after 11 tracks and walks away as if saying, 'Don't come to us when the temple falls.'"

THE FAMINE in January 2010 announced the departure of lead singer and co-founder Chris "Kris" McCaddon. Nick Nowell, who had been handling bass duties for THE FAMINE since 2008, has since taken over as the band's new vocalist. The group also recruited a new bassist, Jon Richardson (SABOTEUR, THE MONARCH).

THE FAMINE previously stated that its upcoming CD will be "heavier than 'The Raven And The Reaping' in every way and will build on the intensity that 'The Raven And The Reaping' established. Lyrically, this record will almost be an anarchic indictment of what we have become as a world, country, and individuals and the path that got us here. We touched on this on the last record as well."

Released in May 2008 via Solid State Records, "The Raven and the Reaping" was recorded with Andreas Magnusson (THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER, AGONY SCENE) and was described as "an album of urgent metal with plenty of chunky riffs; the music is at once blustery yet totally memorable."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).