THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN: Guitarist's Broken Foot Forces Tour Cancellations

THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN has issued the following update:

"We were filming two videos last week, and leave it to our resident Tornado Of Destruction In A Small Kosher Frame known as Ben Weinman [guitar] to somehow break his foot while filming A FUCKING VIDEO. Of all the places and times Ben has been seriously hurt playing, he outdoes himself and manages to break his foot in A FUCKING VIDEO. He, of course, was ready to go out and kick ass with a cast on his foot, which we seriously considered for a second, but figured we'd wait 'till he could actually kick ass with both feet just in case he did further damage to his foot, which he certainly would have. Which means we need 4-6 weeks for him to fully heal.

"So the bad news is that USA and Europe are both cancelled. The GOOD NEWS is that we're already rescheduling the North American tour, which will now include Canada and the USA cities that we were missing like Detroit, Austin, Portland and Seattle.

"We're gonna have a CD-release party on November 13th on the East Coast in a soon-to-be-announced city, sure to be way '87, and then we're gonna steamroll a full North American headlining tour from then 'til a few days before Santa comes. Then we'll hit up overseas right away in 2008 with a killer package and more extra dates there too, maybe Japan and Australia, we'll nail it down soon.

"We are so so sorry if you already bought tickets to the now cancelled shows; it is as disappointing for us as it is for you. They will definitely be refundable from wherever you bought them. Go out and support the bands that would have been on tour with us when they come your way, GENGHIS TRON, BEHOLD...THE ARCTOPUS, and A LIFE ONCE LOST.

"Send Ben your good vibes, he is hobbling around on crutches out in the hallway right now as I type this."

THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN's long-awaited new full-length album, "Ire Works", is scheduled for release on Novemebr 13. The CD was recorded with long-time engineer Steve Evetts at his Omen Room Studios in Los Angeles, CA. The band has unveiled the first preview track and album opener "Fix Your Face" exclusively via its MySpace page.

"Ire Works" track listing:

01. Fix Your Face
02. Lurch
03. Black Bubblegum
04. Sick On Sunday
05. When Acting As A Particle
06. Nong Eye Gong
07. When Acting As A Wave
08. 82588
09. Milk Lizard
10. Party Smasher
11. Dead As History
12. Horse Hunter
13. Mouth Of Ghosts

(Thanks: Chris Pausch)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).