THE DARKNESS Named Songwriters Of The Year

THE DARKNESS have won the "Songwriter Of The Year" award at the U.K.'s prestigious Ivor Novello awards, which honor the best British songwriters and composers.

The band's members — Justin Hawkins, Dan Hawkins, Frankie Poullain and Ed Graham — were jointly named winners at the ceremony in London on Thursday (May 27).

Justin Hawkins raised a toast to "songwriters everywhere". He joked: "It's a great award, it's the heaviest, I think it might be lead.

"This is the biggest award you can get if you write your own songs," he added. "We have always wanted something like this but didn't expect to be in this position now. Now we've got here we're not going to let it go. This is wonderful."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).