THE CULT Kicks Off 'Electric 13' Tour In San Diego; Video Of Entire Show Available

THE CULT kicked off its "Electric 13" tour this past Thursday (July 25) at the House Of Blues in San Diego, California. The band is performing its 1987 album "Electric", on its entirety on the trek, which is scheduled to wrap on September 8 in Los Angeles. The live show also includes a second set pulling from the band's eight other studio albums.

THE CULT's setlist for the San Diego concert:

"Electric" set

01. Wild Flower
02. Peace Dog
03. Lil Devil
04. Aphrodisiac Jacket
05. Electric Ocean
06. Bad Fun
07. King Contrary Man
08. Love Removal Machine
09. Zap City
10. Outlaw
11. Memphis Hip Shake

"Pure Cult" set

12. Rain
13. Honey From A Knife
14. Sweet Soul Sister
15. Lucifer
16. Embers
17. Rise
18. The Phoenix
19. For The Animals


20. She Sells Sanctuary
21. Spiritwalker
22. Sun King

Fan-filmed video footage of the entire show can be seen below.

Prior to embarking on the tour, THE CULT guitarist Billy Duffy said: "The plan is to play the 'Electric' album in order then break and play a bunch of other stuff from the other eras, similar to the 'Love Live' tour from a few years back. I've really enjoyed playing 'Bad Fun', 'King Contrary Man' and 'Electric Ocean' again as its been a while. There's moments when it's really exciting and that's really cool.

"It will be interesting to see how 'Memphis Hip Shake' goes down, as it will end that first section of the set, as it sounds really good, but it's not your traditional set-ending song. But then 'Black Angel' ended the 'Love Live' set really well."

Born out of the ashes of the U.K. post-punk scene, THE CULT evolved to become one of the most influential and controversial rock bands of the late 20th century, selling millions of albums, headlining venues worldwide, infusing innovative possibilities into the worlds of music, art and fashion and quickly ascending through the ranks of the indie music world to achieve global status.

In 1987, THE CULT released "Electric", an album of stylistic change that aimed the band straight at the heart of the rock market. Recorded in New York City at the legendary Electric Ladyland studios and filled with the energy of the dirty NYC streets, together with a young producer named Rick Rubin, who resonated more with the hip hop world of THE BEASTIE BOYS, RUN DMC, and PUBLIC ENEMY; the band delivered an recording that has gone on to become one of THE CULT's most successful and influential albums, and as a follow-up to "Love", kicked the door wide open to a passionate new audience.

"Electric" went on to become the band's first platinum album. They quickly captured media attention featuring heavily in music and fashion magazines as well as becoming an MTV staple after dark and where spun heavily on radio coast to coast.

"Electric" was supported by an incident-filled world tour with GUNS N' ROSES as the opener in North America. Beginning in January of that year, THE CULT headlined in the U.K., Europe, the U.S., Canada, and Australia, opened select dates for IGGY POP and DAVID BOWIE, returning at the end of the year to sell out Wembley Arena and Brixton Academy in London.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).