THE CULT Kicks Off 'A Sonic Temple' Tour In Houston (Video)

THE CULT Kicks Off 'A Sonic Temple' Tour In Houston (Video)

THE CULT kicked off a North American tour in celebration of the 30th anniversary of its "Sonic Temple" album Thursday night (May 2) in Houston, Texas.

The British group that's led by vocalist Ian Astbury and guitarist Billy Duffy played a setlist culled from THE CULT's 10 studio albums, with the centerpiece being a super set that's focused on the core songs from "Sonic Temple"; some of these songs had not been performed since the album (their fourth) was originally released in 1989.

The setlist for the Houston concert was as follows:

01. Sun King
02. New York City (performed for first time since 2010)
03. Automatic Blues (performed for first time since 1991)
04. Sweet Soul Sister
05. American Horse
06. Soul Asylum (performed for first time since 1989)
07. Edie (Ciao Baby)
08. Fire Woman
09. Lucifer
10. American Gothic (performed for first time since 2002)
11. Rise
12. Spiritwalker
13. The Phoenix
14. She Sells Sanctuary


15. Saints Are Down (performed for first time since 2011)
16. Rain
17. Love Removal Machine

Fan-filmed video footage of last night's show can be seen below.

"Sonic Temple" — a pivotal, game-changing album that brought together the alternative and hard rock audiences — will be reissued in a 30th-anniversary edition by Beggars Banquet Records. "Sonic Temple" features the singles "Fire Woman", "Edie (Ciao Baby)", "Sweet Soul Sister" and "Sun King".

Each show is a gathering and celebration for THE CULT fans — an opportunity to come together for one night — an event that will be memorable for all who attend. In Los Angeles only, where Astbury and Duffy live, the band has created something extra special. The Greek Theatre will become "A Sonic Temple" on June 15 with a diverse multi-act bill that has roots in THE CULT lead singer Ian Astbury's pioneering pre-Lollapalooza festival "A Gathering Of The Tribes" (1990). PRAYERS, ZOLA JESUS and VOWWS will join headliners THE CULT.

Asked what he hopes audiences will take away from the "Sonic Temple" 30th-anniversary tour, Billy said: "I think as time has passed our music has endured fairly well. I'd like fans to not only allow themselves a little indulgence into maybe simpler happier times of the late '80s for a few hours at a 'Sonic Temple' '19 show but also be happy that the music is now really their possession, not ours, and to do with it what they will. For the most part, once an album is done, Ian and I never look back too much and let it go out there with few regrets. Let them celebrate those good times back then but not dwell in them and even more so look forward to new and different experiences in the future."


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).