THE CHASM Complete Work On New Album

THE CHASM have completed work on their new album, "The Spell of Retribution", tentatively due in November through Earache subsidiary Wicked World Records. Comprising 10 tracks with a running time of over 66 minutes, "The Spell of Retribution" represents THE CHASM's "most adventurous and ambitious project to date, and firmly sets them apart from the rest of the current death metal scene by incorporating purposely lengthy songs dealing with intricate concepts close to the heart of frontman Daniel Corchado," according to a posting on the Earache Records web site.

Recorded at Soto Sound Studios in Illinois and then mixed by Corchado at Lux Inframundis, the album's recording was not without its problems, including at one point a studio fire that set the schedule back and led to the album taking longer than anticipated to complete.

Commented Corchado: "We are definitely very proud to announce the completion of this new chapter, the 7th, in THE CHASM's odyssey, after almost 3 months of hard work in the studio and a schedule full of delays and problems, 'The Spell of Retribution' has reached the end of it's creative/constructive journey. Armed with a thick, darkened/heavy production, interwoven with what surely is our most complex and destructive material, 'The Spell...' is for sure a lengthy and memorable piece of darkened heavy metal that praises death and certainly is not a one-dimensional album, like so many infecting the scene nowadays. We can assure the true believers of this cult of death, and to any fan and follower of this movement, who still feels the darkened flame of this music, that when you hear 'The Spell...' you'll encounter a devastating experience, one full of unexpected turns and musical atmospheres presenting controlled chaos and the intense feeling of revenge and inner victory..."

"The Spell of Retribution" track listing:

01. From the Curse, a Scourge...
02. The Omnipotent Codex
03. Conqueror & Warlord
04. Manifest My Intervention
05. Fortress
06. Retribution of the Lost Years (I, The Pastfinder III)
07. Conjuring the New Apocalypse
08. The Eclipse: Monument to the Empire
I) Sentence and Burden
II) The Voyage
III) The Restitution
09. Remains of the Covenant
10. Eternal Cycle of Delusion


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).