THE BURNING: 'Hail The Horde' Artwork Unveiled

Hard-hitting Danish four-piece THE BURNING has revealed the cover artwork for its new album, "Hail The Horde", due in Europe on October 25 via Massacre Records. The cover art was created by Brent Elliot White, who has previously worked with MEGADETH, DEATH ANGEL and WHITECHAPEL.

"Hail The Horde" was produced by Jacob Bredahl (HATESPHERE, PURIFIED IN BLOOD), while the drum recordings and mastering were handled by Tue Madsen (SUICIDE SILENCE, HEAVEN SHALL BURN, SICK OF IT ALL). The album features guest vocals by Scott and Bjørn Jensen (DAWN OF DEMISE) and Søren "Nico" Adamsen (ARTILLERY).

"Hail The Horde" track listing:

01. Godless
02. Bait The Hook
03. Flames Be Your FriendNihilist Life
04. Nihilist Life
05. Swing The Pendulum
06. Wolf Moon (feat. Søren "Nico" Adamsen)
07. Hail The Horde (feat. Scott and Bjørn Jensen)
08. Inverted Cross Syndrome
09. Metamorphosis
10. Baptized In Bong Water
11. Turn Or Burn
12. Disownment

The song "Bait The Hook" is available for streaming on the band's MySpace page.

Commented THE BURNING frontman Johnny Haven: "We knew that we wanted the Jensen brothers to guest on one of the more rock-oriented songs on the album. And the title track has a simple 'in-your-face' riff that sounds like MÖTLEY CRÜE played on 33 rpm with Grave's guitar sound and their deep growls were a perfect match for that song.

"'Wolf Moon' is the closest thing a band like ours will ever come to a ballad, and Nico's voice goes really well with the DANZIG-inspired chorus. This is also the first THE BURNING song to ever feature acoustic guitar."

THE BURNING previously stated about the new CD: "This is by far the most uncompromising, raw and natural sounding album we have ever done. You can actually tell that it is people playing; we left in small mistakes, and we didn't drum replace or any of that stuff. And the whole thing sounds like you are in the rehearsal room with cabinets and smoking speakers in front of you.

"For the first time ever we wrote more songs than we needed for the album, and out of the 17 we wrote, the 12 best are going on the album.

"Musically, the backbone is heavily inspired by mid-Nineties groove metal, mixed with heavy, dirty rock choruses and crossover thrash. Not unlike the albums released by bands like PANTERA, CORROSION OF CONFORMITY, SEPULTURA and HELMET during the mid-Nineties."

THE BURNING will play songs from the new album next month when the band hits road in Denmark as part of the MTV Headbangers Ball Tour with RAUNCHY and INVOCATOR.

A short teaser clip for the new album can be viewed below.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).