THE AMITY AFFLICTION: Entire 'Let The Ocean Take Me' Album Available For Streaming

THE AMITY AFFLICTION: Entire 'Let The Ocean Take Me' Album Available For Streaming

"Let The Ocean Take Me", the new album from Australian metalcore masters THE AMITY AFFLICTION, can be streamed in its entirety using the SoundCloud widget below. The CD will be released on June 10 via Roadrunner.

Urgent, aggressive, and remarkably cathartic, "Let The Ocean Take Me" is THE AMITY AFFLICTION at its most vital best. Recorded by producer Will Putney (WINDS OF PLAGUE, UPON A BURNING BODY) at guitarist Troy Brady's Evergreen Studios in Brisbane, the album pushes the band's signature post-hardcore approach to new heights of richness and diversity, providing the consummate aural partner to vocalist Joel Birch's increasingly more potent lyricism. Inspired in part by a near-death experience suffered during last year's Vans Warped Tour, songs like "Don't Lean On Me" and "FML" are fueled by desperate emotion and intense anxiety but achieve extraordinary transcendence through radical honesty and raw power.

"(The album) is about really trying to find a positive in my life again," Birch says. "Writing these songs was a very cathartic process, but I'm terrified of people listening to them and reading these lyrics because they'll know exactly what I'm thinking. I'm hiding nothing."

"Let The Ocean Take Me" track listing:

01. Pittsburgh
02. Lost & Fading
03. Don't Lean On Me
04. The Weigh Down
05. Never Alone
06. Death's Hand
07. FML
08. My Father's Son
09. Forest Fire
10. Give It All

For more than a decade, THE AMITY AFFLICTION has used music to entertain while simultaneously confronting the very darkest edges of man's existence. "Severed Ties", the band's 2008 full-length debut, and 2010's follow-up, "Youngbloods", instantly established the band's twisted take, all revved-up rhythms, soaring melodies, and full-bore vocals coming together to fashion something provocative and distinct. "Let The Ocean Take Me" follows 2012's "Chasing Ghosts" which debuted at #1 on the Australian ARIA chart — the rare rock record to achieve that major milestone — and has since been certified gold.


Joel Birch - Vocals
Ahren Stringer - Bass, Clean Vocals
Troy Brady - Guitar
Ryan Burt - Drums
Dan Brown - Guitar



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).