TEXAS HIPPIE COALITION To Release 'Dark Side Of Black' Album In April

TEXAS HIPPIE COALITION To Release 'Dark Side Of Black' Album In April

After reaching a new level of recognition with their last album "Ride On" and a position on the 2014 Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem Festival, gritty southern metal four-piece TEXAS HIPPIE COALITION is back with its fifth full-length album, "Dark Side Of Black", due on April 22 via Carved Records.

Embracing southern roots while exploring a heavier sound than ever before, "Dark Side Of Black" achieves a murky, groovier feel while not straying too far from TEXAS HIPPIE COALITION's tried-and-true brand of rugged outlaw rock. The CD was recorded at Boot Hill Studio in Corinth, Texas and Valve Studios in Dallas, Texas with producer Sterling Winfield (PANTERA, HELLYEAH, DAMAGEPLAN).

"'Dark Side Of Black' is our heaviest album to date for sure," states TEXAS HIPPIE COALITION vocalist Big Dad Ritch. "We've learned a lot having made four full-length albums prior. We're trying to use that knowledge we learned to make an album that can maintain what 'Ride On' and 'Peacemaker' bring to the table, yet we wanted it to lend itself more to the power that is the red dirt metal of 'Rollin'' and 'Pride Of Texas'. So it feels like 'Pride' meets 'Peacemaker'. Top-shelf TEXAS HIPPIE COALITION meets bottom-shelf liquor..."

Although the members of TEXAS HIPPIE COALITION are experts at their trade, recording "Dark Side Of Black" wasn't easy at times. TEXAS HIPPIE COALITION drummer Timmy Braun went through a physical struggle while recording the album, having just recovered from a serious infection shortly beforehand. He feels, perhaps, that this struggle influenced his recording style overall.

"About 'Dark Side Of Black', I have never had such a difficult time completing an album in my life," begins Braun. "I say that because my first session I had just got out of the hospital. It was difficult for me to walk let alone play a drum kit. After being in bed for literally two weeks, I felt a bit out of shape. Then for the second session, my hand was swollen to almost twice its size because of an injury! I couldn't make a fist, let alone play a drum kit. However, I'm hoping the vibe I was able to create will have a special flavor that I wouldn't have been able to offer had my life been in order, per se. In other words, tough times make for better art!"

Guitarist Cord Pool adds: "Between tweaking our writing style and being influenced by personal things, 'Dark Side Of Black' leads the listener a step closer to the darker and heavier side of what we have to offer."

"Dark Side Of Black" track listing:

01. Angel Fall
02. Come Get It
03. Dark Side
04. Gods Are Angry
05. Hit It
06. Into The Wall
07. Knee Deep
08. Rise
09. Shakin'
10. Villain



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).