TERÄSBETONI's New Album Lands On Finnish Chart

"Maailma Tarvitsee Sankareita" (English translation: "The World Needs Heroes"), the fourth album from the Finnish metal group TERÄSBETONI — which represented Finland in the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest — has entered the official chart in the band's home country at position No. 14. Released on November 24 via Sakara Records, the CD was recorded at HIP Studios in Helsinki, Finland and Yellow House Studios in Hämeenlinna, Finland with producer Hiili Hiilesmaa (HIM, THE 69 EYES, LORDI, SENTENCED, APOCALYPTICA).

"Maailma Tarvitsee Sankareita" track listing:

01. Myrsky nousee
02. Metalliolut
03. Maailma tarvitsee sankareita
04. Jumalten usva
05. Mies
06. Tunnemme sinut
07. Uudestisyntynyt
08. Thanatos
09. Konstantinopoli
10. Eteenpäin
11. Gloria

The "Metalliolut" video can be viewed below. The clip was filmed in eastern Finland with director Antti "Hyrde" Hyyrynen (vocalist and guitarist of STAM1NA).

Hiilesmaa produced the last two albums from TERÄSBETONI, "Vaadimme metallia" and "Myrskyntuoja", both of which were certified gold in Finland.

TERÄSBETONI's debut LP, "Metallitotuus", was certified platinum in Finland and was honored in the "Metal Album of the Year" category at the annual Emma Gaala (Finnish Grammy equivalent).

TERÄSBETONI was asked to participate in the Finnish Eurovision qualification of 2008. The band won the public's vote with the song "Missä Miehet Ratsastaa" ("Where All The Men Ride Forth"), from their then-newly-released "Myrskyntuoja" album and proceeded to represent Finland at the Eurovision Song Contest in Serbia. TERÄSBETONI went through to the Eurovision Song Contest final and had the prestigious experience of performing for over 100 million viewers!


Jarkko Ahola - Vocals, Bass
Arto Järvinen - Guitar, Vocals
Viljo Rantanen - Guitar
Jari Kuokkanen - Drums

Photos below by: Eero Kokko

(Thanks: Melica / Night Elves)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).