TED NUGENT To Release 'The Music Made Me Do It' Album In November

TED NUGENT To Release 'The Music Made Me Do It' Album In November

Ted Nugent will release his new studio album, "The Music Made Me Do It", on November 9. The follow-up to 2014's "Shutup & Jam" features Nugent alongside longtime touring bassist Greg Smith, drummer Jason Hartless and Michael Lutz. Plus, "Motown soulsister" Alyssa Simmons "sings her dangerous ass off," according to Ted.

You can pre-order the disc now at TedNugent.com. The first 150 people to pre-order will receive their copy autographed by Ted himself, plus a free download of the title track.

This CD/DVD set features 10 new tracks, and Ted Nugent's live performance at Freedom Hill in Sterling Heights, Michigan.

The official music video for "The Music Made Me Do It" title track, filmed during the 2018 summer tour, can be seen below.

"All the new songs erupted from nonstop jam sessions just like they always have, intensely inspired by my love and craving of grinding, throttling rhythm driven guitar patters and licks," Nugent told Ultimate Classic Rock. "The songtitles say it all."

Nugent said he chose the album title "not only because it is the most soulful, uppity, energetic, defiant soundtrack to the American Dream, but because it is needed and celebrated now more than ever to counter punch the pathetic soulless pop drivel running amok out there!"

As for the inspirations behind the music and lyrics, Nugent told Ultimate Classic Rock: "Life inspires me. Freedom inspires me. Mrs. Nugent inspires me. My dogs inspire me. Campfires inspire me. The woods inspire me. Critters inspire me. Storms inspire me. Life inspires me. I get high on air! Killer music erupts from my Gibson Byrdland on a daily basis, and grinding grooves and exciting guitar patterns have a life of their own. I love making guitar music more today than ever in my 60-plus years of jamming."

CD track listing:

01. The Music Made Me Do It
02. Where Ya Gonna Run To Get Away From Yourself
03. Cocked, Locked & Ready To Rock
04. Bigfundirtygroovenoize
05. I Love Ya Too Much Baby
06. Backstrap Fever
07. I Just Wanna Go Huntin'
08. Fred Bear
09. Sunrize
10. Sunrize Fender (Fender Bass VI Solo)

DVD track listing:

Live At Freedom Hill, Sterling Heights MI

(Feedback intro, affectionately named "Light My Campfire")
01. Star Spangled Banner
02. Baby Please Don't Go
03. Free-For-All
04. Gonzo
05. Paralyzed
06. Wang Dang Sweet Poon Tang
07. Good Friends
(Blues Jam, affectionately named "Blues On The Grill")
08. I Need You Bad
09. Hey Baby
10. I Still Believe
11. Fred Bear
12. Motor City Madhouse
13. Cat Scratch Fever
14. Stranglehold
15. Don't Tread On Me
16. Great White Buffalo


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).