TAPROOT: New Song Available For Free Download

"Release Me", a brand new song from the Michigan-based hard rock quartet TAPROOT, is available for streaming and free download at ZippoEncore.com. The song comes off the band's new album, "Plead The Fifth", which is scheduled for release on May 11 via Victory Records.

"Plead The Fifth" track listing:

01. Now Rise
02. Game Over
03. Fractured (Everything I Said Was True)
04. Release Me
05. Stolage
06. 911OST
07. Trophy Wifi
08. Words Don’t Mean A Thing
09. Left Behind
10. No View Is True
11. Stares

"Release Me" audio stream:

"Plead The Fifth" was recorded on farm in Sullivan, Michigan with producer Tim Patalan (SPONGE, LOVEDRUG).

TAPROOT guitarist Mike DeWolf recently told AOL's Noisecreep that "Plead The Fifth" will sound closer to the band's 2000 debut, "Gift", than 2008's "Our Long Road Home",, which was progressive in nature. "We're definitely making it as heavy as possible and aggressive while still keeping a lot of the beautiful melodies and just the general beauty of things in it," he said of the forthcoming disc. "We're using a lot more of our baritone guitars, which was sort of the signature of the 'Gift' and 'Welcome' [2002] years, so that immediately makes things a lot heavier."

Regarding TAPROOT's last couple of albums, which tried to evolve away from heavy for the sake of being heavy, DeWolf said, "I think it threw a lot of fans for a loop. But at the time, we were willing to lose some people to gain some more. In general, I guess ... I don't know. But we're definitely getting back to it. I think a lot of people appreciated the progressive nature of what we were trying to do but at the same time, a lot of people are just fucking meatheads and only want heaviness. I guess some bands are pretty good at sticking to one thing and working that their entire career. Say ... AC/DC. But that wasn't us."

TAPROOT's "Fractured (Everything I Said Was True)" video can be viewed below.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).