STEVE PERRY: Making Of First Official Music Video In 25 Years, 'We're Still Here'

STEVE PERRY: Making Of First Official Music Video In 25 Years, 'We're Still Here'

Behind-the-scenes footage from the making of Steve Perry's first official music video in nearly 25 years, "We're Still Here", can be seen below. The track is taken from his latest album, "Traces", which arrived in October.

A series of live performance videos were released previously in support of "Traces". However, the new clip for "We're Still Here" represents Perry's first official video as a solo artist since "Missing You" in 1994 and his first official video overall since JOURNEY's "When You Love A Woman" in 1996.

The neo-noir inspired clip, directed by Myriam Santos (Common, Andra Day, Tommy Lee) captures Perry driving a shiny, black '70 Chevelle SS through the same Hollywood streets that moved him to co-write this reflective, affecting ballad with Canadian producer/songwriter Brian West.

Perry shared the story behind "We're Still Here". "Brian and I had just started writing the song and were sketching it out in the studio," he said. "When we broke for dinner I went to this place down the street, and that was the first time I'd been in Hollywood in a long time. There I was on Sunset Blvd. and Hollywood and Vine just walking around. I saw a whole new generation of 16 and 17-year old's running around just...alive. And through these kids I felt a kinship. We're still here doing the same thing."

Upon its release last fall, "Traces", his first new album in nearly 25 years, was met with wide acclaim and tremendous excitement from fans and critics all over the world. The album entered the Billboard 200 Albums chart at No. 6, Perry's highest debut as a solo artist and earned the Rock And Roll Hall Of Famer his best-ever chart entries in the U.K., Germany, Canada and Japan.

Now "Traces" is getting the deluxe treatment. Last week, the album's full, expanded track listing of 15 songs (the standard album plus five bonus tracks from the "Traces" sessions) became widely available for the first time in a variety of formats. Fans can purchase the album digitally, on CD and in two 180-gram 2LP vinyl versions, one that features a collectible, limited-edition 3D lenticular cover. In addition, brand-new, special edition merchandise is now available exclusively on Steve's online store.

"These bonus tracks — 'October In New York', 'Angel Eyes', 'Call On Me', 'Could We Be Somethin' Again' and 'Blue Jays Fly' — are some of my most favorite songs in this 15-song collection," stated Perry. "I'm so glad they will now be available everywhere."

"Traces" deluxe CD track listing:

01. No Erasin'
02. We're Still Here
03. Most Of All
04. No More Cryin'
05. In The Rain
06. Sun Shines Gray
07. You Belong To Me
08. Easy To Love
09. I Need You
10. We Fly

Bonus Tracks

11. October In New York
12. Angel Eyes
13. Call On Me
14. Could We Be Somethin' Again
15. Blue Jays Fly

Perry reunited with JOURNEY for the first time in years as they were inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame in April 2017. The iconic singer appeared onstage with his former bandmates as they each gave speeches, but did not perform with the group later in the event.

During his speech, Perry praised each of JOURNEY musicians as well as the band's current singer, Arnel Pineda, who was not being inducted into the Rock Hall.

Perry's final full concert with JOURNEY took place in early 1987. He later rejoined his bandmates for a brief performance in 1991 to honor late concert promoter Bill Graham. He also appeared with JOURNEY when they received a star on the Hollywood Walk Of Fame in 2005.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).