STEEL ASSASSIN's 'War Of The Eight Saints' Due In September

New Jersey power metal label Sentinel Steel (ATTACKER, AXEHAMMER, SACRED OATH, MANILLA ROAD, GOTHIC KNIGHTS, etc.) has set a September 12 release date for Brockton, MA-based band STEEL ASSASSIN's "War of the Eight Saints" CD. States Sentinel Steel owner Denis Gulbey: "Being originally from Mass myself and a longtime admirer of STEEL ASSASSIN's 1980s demo material (collected on the 'From the Vaults' CD a few years back), I was very interested in the band's new material. I tend to be a skeptic when it comes to band reformations so imagine my surprise when I heard 'War of the Eight Saints' for the first time. I was blown away. For a band that formed more than 25 years ago to sound this powerful, this heavy, this VITAL to the current metal scene just boggles the mind. The band has created a unique traditional power metal album of great musical depth with challenging, detailed lyrics that very few of today's bands are capable of writing. I'm very pleased to be associated with this band and this album."

"War of the Eight Saints" track listing:

01. Hawkwood
02. Curse Of The Black Prince
03. Hill Of Crosses
04. Sword In The Stone
05. Merchants Of Force
06. Bloodlust Quest
07. Tartarus
08. Metalfire
09. Victory
10. Barabbas
11. War Of The Eight Saints

A Japanese edition will be released on the same day through the Spiritual Beast label. States Gulbey: "Our relationship with Japan's Spiritual Beast label goes back a number of years, and this is our first licensing deal with them. I'm a big fan of the bands they license, which include CRYONIC TEMPLE, GRIFFIN, HIBRIA, MYSTIC PROPHECY, PARAGON, STORMWARRIOR, TANK, and many others. Spiritual Beast works with some of the best metal labels in the business, labels like LMP, Massacre and Remedy, so we are honored to be a part of their roster for the Japanese market."


John Falzone - Lead Vocals
Kevin Curran - Rhythm & Lead Guitars
Mike Mooney - Rhythm & Lead Guitars/Backing Vocals
Phil Grasso - Bass/Backing Vocals
Greg Michalowski - Drums/Backing Vocals

Formed as a cover band in 1980, the group officially became STEEL ASSASSIN in 1983, appearing on "Metal Massacre VI" in 1985. Despite acclaimed true metal demo tapes and live shows in the early/mid-'80s, the band disbanded in 1985, a brief reunion in 1988 keeping the STEEL ASSASSIN name alive. The band members continued on in other projects, with 2005 finally bringing four of the five original members back together again, resulting in heavy writing and rehearsal sessions for the "War of the Eight Saints" album. New lead singer John Falzone (TRIPHAMMER) was added to the line-up, and Rich Spillberg (WARGASM) handled the engineering and production duties. The result is a masterpiece nearly 25 years in the making; a devastating new album of U.S. traditional epic/true power metal at its masterful best. Singer Falzone is a stunning singer in the explosive Dio/Dickinson/Soto style, and when coupled with STEEL ASSASSIN's strong musicianship, catchy songs and intelligent lyrics based on history and mythology, "War of the Eight Saints" may be THE traditional power metal album of 2007.

Says the band: "We worked hard to capture the spirit of these historical and legendary stories that span past centuries. Mainly inspired by the exploits of 14th Century military legend Sir John Hawkwood and his 'White Company" of mercenaries, 'War of the Eight Saints' delivers the power and force that reflects the drama and intensity of the age."

STEEL ASSASSIN has been confirmed for the November 3, 2007 installment of Germany's famed Keep It True festival, and will share the stage with bands like LEATHERWOLF, TOXIK and SACRED OATH.

A vinyl edition of "War of the Eight Saints" is also in the works.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).