SPOCK'S BEARD To Release 'Feel Euphoria' In July

SPOCK'S BEARD have set a July 8 North American release date for their new album, "Feel Euphoria". The CD, the group's first to feature drummer Nick D'Virgilio as lead vocalist, will contain the following tracks:

01. Onomatopoeia
02. The Bottom Line
03. Feel Euphoria
04. Shining Star
05. East of Eden, West of Memphis
06. Ghosts of Autumn
07. A Guy Named Sid
Part 1 – Intro
Part II - Same Old Story
Part III - You Don't Know
Part IV – Judge
Part V - Sid's Boys Choir
Part VI – Change
08. Carry On

D'Virgilio, guitarist/cellist Alan Morse, keyboardist Ryo Okumoto and bass guitarist Dave Meros decided to soldier on after the departure of vocalist/keyboardist/guitarist Neal Morse in 2002.

"I think people will be pleasantly surprised by this album," says D'Virgilio.

Pressure combined with the excitement of the unknown weighed on SPOCK'S BEARD, but once work began on "Feel Euphoria" the band members felt more and more at ease and their confidence swelled when they realized they had written and recorded a strong album.

"After the initial shock of Neal leaving, I got over being mad rather quickly and we looked at it as an opportunity. We're used to making records, but this one definitely had a different vibe. We all brought in demos and then worked on this music together," D'Virgilio says. "I wanted to make sure we sounded cohesive because Neal had a certain style to his songwriting."

"My demos were pretty elaborate. I wanted to make sure the guys could see I could do this and step us a songwriter and lead singer. The first demo I did was 'A Guy Named Sid', just to see if I could do something that challenging. Neal was really good at that kind of songwriting," says D'Virgilio. "Everybody did great songwriting and playing on this album. Alan's stuff is amazing, Ryo brought in the fantastic title tune and Dave's work is excellent."

SPOCK'S BEARD collectively produced "Feel Euphoria", whereas Neal Morse produced previous albums. This was just another obstacle the band conquered. D'Virgilio praised engineer/mixer Richard Mouser, who essentially functioned as a co-producer as well.

As SPOCK'S BEARD's new frontman, D'Virgilio realized the importance of his lead vocals.

"As far as singing, I knew I wanted to be a real rock singer with a strong, commanding voice. I didn't want to sing lead with a high-sounding voice, which is what you often do for harmony vocals," he explains.

When SPOCK'S BEARD tours to promote "Feel Euphoria", D'Virgilio will literally be out front as a lead vocalist, rhythm guitarist and acoustic guitarist, but he will also play drums live on many songs, especially instrumentals. A touring drummer will be utilized as well.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).