SOILWORK Drummer Collaborating With MESHUGGAH Guitarist

Dirk Verbeuren, drummer for Swedish modern metal merchants SOILWORK, has commented on his performance on the band's upcoming album, "The Panic Broadcast". He also revealed that he will be recording drums for MESHUGGAH guitarist Fredrik Thordendal's second solo record, to be released sometime later this year:

Said Verbeuren: "Working on 'The Panic Broadcast' was a fantastic opportunity for me to be creative. The intricacy of the new material reminds me of [Dirk's other band] SCARVE, and my approach to the drums was similar in the sense that I tried to bring something a little unusual to every song.

"With this album, I feel like I truly found my musical path in SOILWORK. It's definitely my most technically challenging work with the band and possibly my most dynamic performance so far. I'm super-stoked about what we've accomplished!

"As for recording with Fredrik Thordendal: what a dream come true! Fredrik has been very supportive of my career for many years in many ways, and I respect him immensely both as a musician and songwriter.

"It was huge for SCARVE to be asked to open for MESHUGGAH and we've been in touch ever since.

"When Fredrik asked me to be a part of the second 'Special Defects' record, I just couldn't believe it! Now that I have the SOILWORK album under my belt, it's exciting to dive into a completely different challenge where my drum parts will be based on improvisation more than anything else."

"The Panic Broadcast" will be released in Europe on July 2 and in North America on July 13 via Nuclear Blast Records. The CD was mixed at Fascination Street studio in Örebro, Sweden with Jens Bogren (OPETH, KATATONIA, PARADISE LOST, BLOODBATH).

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. Late For The Kill, Early For The Slaughter
02. Two Lives Worth Of Reckoning
03. The Thrill
04. Deliverance Is Mine
05. Night Comes Clean
06. King Of The Threshold
07. Let This River Flow
08. Epitome
09. The Akuma Afterglow
10. Enter Dog Of Pavlov

The song "Two Lives Worth Of Reckoning" is now available for streaming at this location.

SOILWORK's new album is the first to feature guitarist Peter Wichers since his return to the band in 2008, as well as the studio debut with axeman Sylvain Coudret, who also joined in 2008.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).