SLAYER: 'Eyes Of The Insane' Video Posted Online

SLAYER's video for the song "Eyes of the Insane" has been posted online exclusively at

Directed by Iranian filmmaker Tony Petrossian (SLIPKNOT), "Eyes of the Insane" is a first-person narrative about the horrors leading up to the final moments of a solder at war. The entire video is a single, long and tight close-up of the soldier's eye with images clearly reflected within his pupil and iris and perfectly choreographed with the rhythm of the music. Reflected are disconcerting images of para trooping into enemy territory, gunfire, helicopters and tanks, explosions, poignant flashbacks of his wife and child and home, and the images of his death. Two endings were filmed — one where the soldier dies from his combat injuries, and the other where he commits suicide.

The lyrics for "Eyes of the Insane" were written by SLAYER's bassist/vocalist Tom Araya and the song was inspired by a magazine article entitled "Casualty of War". The article told the story about a highly-decorated U.S. soldier in Iraq who, a mere four days away from going home, had a mental breakdown that left him "seeing faces, soldiers' faces." He took his own life.

Over the band's twenty-plus years together, SLAYER's music has dealt overtly with the brutality of war and religious fanaticism. Many of the songs on "Christ Illusion", in particular, scrutinize America's role in Iraq and Afghanistan and the shrinking distance between the Church and State. And a huge chunk of SLAYER's core audience are those blue-collar kids who enlisted in the military and are getting blown to bits.

As previously reported, SLAYER was interviewed for an interactive news web site in Singapore called STOMP during their visit to the country in early October. Watch the five-minute interview at this location.

SLAYER will be issuing an "Eyes of the Insane" two-part CD single and seven-inch vinyl in Europe on November 20 via Warner. The complete details are as follows:

CD Single Part One:

01. Eyes of the Insane (album version)
02. Eyes of the Insane (live version)

CD Single Part Two (Enhanced CD):

01. Eyes of the Insane (album version)
02. Cult (live)
03. Reborn (live In New York 1986) (enhanced video)

Seven-Inch Colored Vinyl:

01. Eyes of the Insane (album version)
02. Cult (live)

SLAYER's "Christ Illusion" album, which debuted at No. 5 on the Billboard chart in August, has sold 127,000 copies in the United States since its Aug. 8 release, according to Nielsen SoundScan.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).