SLASH: 'I Was Suicidal When I Left GUNS N' ROSES'

The Irish Examiner is reporting that legendary guitarist Slash considered suicide after watching Axl Rose record his vocals at the final GUNS N' ROSES recording session.

The band recorded a cover of the ROLLING STONES' "Sympathy for the Devil" in 1994 and by that point Rose wouldn't even look at Slash.

The next day, Slash decided to leave the band.

Slash, who now plays with VELVET REVOLVER, recalls he went home to sleep, waking up two hours later.

He says: "I was suicidal. If I'd had a gun with me at that time, I probably would have done myself in.

"If I'd had a half-ounce of f**king heroin with me, I probably just would've gone. It was heavy. It was a headspace I'd never been in before.

"Somehow I managed to go back to sleep. Then, when I woke up later that morning, I made a decision. I felt the whole weight of the world drop."

Tags:

Posted in: News

COMMENTS

To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).