SKYFORGER: New Album Details Revealed

"Kurbads", the new album from Latvian pagan metal kings SKYFORGER, is scheduled for release in Europe on April 26 and in North America on May 11 via Metal Blade Records. The CD was recorded at the Latvian studio Lauska with the group's own bagpipe player, Kaspars Barbals, handling engineering duties. The bandmembers also produced the album themselves to make sure the recording sounds authentic and "100% like SKYFORGER."

According to a press release, "Kurbads" offers "the typical SKYFORGER fusion of various metal styles, like old-school thrash and heavy metal as well as Latvian folk music, all rounded up with the trademark SKYFORGER sound! The artwork was created by SKYFORGER guitarist Martins and is connected to the story of 'Kurbads'."

"Kurbads" track listing:

01. Curse Of The Witch
02. Son Of The Mare
03. The Nine-Headed
04. Bewitched Forest
05. In The Yard Of The Father's Son
06. The Devilslayer
07. The Stone Sentinel
08. In The Underworld
09. Black Rider
10. The Last Battle
11. Kurbads

The song "Son Of The Mare" is available for streaming on the band's MySpace page.

A trailer for "Kurbads" can be viewed below.

SKYFORGER have been tempering their music in the smithy of the Thundergod since 1995. For the last decade, the band has been fighting under the flag of Latvian Pagan metal; an extreme blend of traditional Baltic folk music and various metal influences ranging from Norwegian-inspired black metal through to '80s-rooted heavy metal. The band's unique combination of ancient and modern influence has given them a wide appeal throughout both the metal and folk scenes, and has brought great variety to their songwriting over the course of the five SKYFORGER albums.

Through the years SKYFORGER has been busy on stages all over Europe. Behind the belt of SKYFORGER are already four European tours, many mini-tours and festival appearances and SKYFORGER is well known for their non-compromising live performances.


Peter - lead vocals/guitars
Edgars "Zirgs" - bass/vocals
Edgars "Mazais" - drums/percussion
Kaspars - folk instruments/backing vocal
Martins - guitars/backing vocals

For more information, visit


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).