SIRENIA Singer AILYN Talks About New Album: Video Available

A two-minute video clip featuring SIRENIA's 26-year-old Spanish singer Ailyn talking about the band's new album, "The 13th Floor", can be viewed below.

"The 13th Floor" will be released on January 23 via Nuclear Blast Records. The CD was tracked at Sound Suite Studios in France and Stargoth Studios in Norway while the mixing and mastering sessions took place at the Antfarm Studios in Denmark with Tue Madsen. The group says, "Expect a melodic and powerful album in the typical SIRENIA vein. The album features guest appearances by Jan Kenneth Barkved (who also did some guest appearances on our debut, 'At Sixes and Sevens'), French violin player Stephanie Valentin adds to the sound along with the Sirenian choir that has been an important part of our sound since the very beginning."

"The 13th Floor" track listing:

01. The Path To Decay
02. Lost In Life
03. The Mind Maelstrom
04. The Seventh Summer
05. Beyond Life's Scenery
06. The Lucid Door
07. Led Astray
08. Winterborn 77
09. Sirens Of The Seven Seas

The video for "The Path To Decay" can be viewed below. The clip was shot in Gothenburg, Sweden with director Patric Ullaeus (DIMMU BORGIR, LACUNA COIL) of Revolver Film Company. Guitarist Morten Veland said, "We are very satisfied with the end result and [are excited] to share the video with all of you."

SIRENIA recruited Ailyn (born: Pilar Giménez García) as the replacement for Monika Pedersen, who left the group in 2007 after only one album due to "musical differences."

Ailyn is best known as a member of the young team in the Spanish version of "The X Factor", the biggest television talent competition in Europe.

Ailyn was recently interviewed by Source Webzine. A couple of excerpts from the question-and-answer session follow below.

Source Webzine: How did you get into SIRENIA?

Ailyn: I found SIRENIA because my sister was searching metal bands to add as friends to my MySpace and she found them. We saw their videos and heard their songs and asked them to add me as friends. At the moment I didn't know they were searching for a new vocalist and some time later they contacted me to ask me if I wanted to go to Norway for the audition…it was great!!

Source Webzine: Where do you currently reside? How did you meet the other members who formed SIRENIA with you?

Ailyn: Right now I'm living in Granada, Spain. I met the other band members at the second audition for the new vocalist of SIRENIA.

Source Webzine: Did you find it difficult to move to Norway?

Ailyn: In fact I'm still living in Spain. I'm thinking about moving to Norway, but I suppose it will be not immediately.

Source Webzine: The [new] album, "The 13th Floor", is awesome. It has greater depth and is more complex than the previous ones. How long did it take you to record?

Ailyn: If I'm not mistaken, I think it took me five days to record my voice. When I arrived, Morten had the guitar work really advanced. He went to France to record the Sirenian choirs and violins, and finally in Denmark there was the mixing of the album.

Source Webzine: Do you momentarily make enough money to live from being a musician?

Ailyn: Not at the moment, but I think with the album's release, things will go well!

Source Webzine: Who is you're single biggest vocal influence (female)?

Ailyn: Right now I don't know who I'd say… there are too many. I've always listened all kind of music style to learn from all the singers I like. Sarah Brightman? Sharon Den Adel? I really don't know.

Source Webzine: The Internet is a very important source for many metal fans. How do you use the Internet and how important is it for you and other bands?

Ailyn: I think the Internet is a way to let music arrive to places where it wouldn't arrive other way. For example, you record a song, upload it on the Internet, and people from all over the world can hear you!!! It's a really good way to get promotion. I use the Internet very little. I use it to be in contact with the band, talk to my friends or send them emails, and also to take care of my MySpace or search for information.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).