SILVERSTEIN To Release 'Redux: The First 10 Years' In April

SILVERSTEIN To Release 'Redux: The First 10 Years' In April

Fresh off back-to-back tours celebrating the 15th anniversary of their 2003 full-length debut album "When Broken Is Easily Fixed", Canadian rockers SILVERSTEIN are gearing up to release "Redux: The First 10 Years".

The album features all-new recordings of 12 classic songs from the band's first 10 years as a unit. Consider it a "sonic update" of some of the most beloved tracks in the band's catalog.

SILVERSTEIN is releasing this special album direct to fans. Those who pre-order the record now at this location will receive it by April 12. "Redux: The First 10 Years" will be available in four, limited edition vinyl variants, on CD, via cassette, and digitally. The band is already creating exclusive merch.

"The goal was to update the recordings and make them sound the best they can — not change the songs from what has made them resonate with people for so long," says singer Shane Told. "You're going to hear the clarity and dynamics in a new way, but the magic of the original songs is kept intact. It's going to be fun for fans to crank these up and really hear the songs the way they were meant to be heard."

He continues: "We chose the songs that we thought needed the most in terms of a sound update, and also which songs have spoken to our fans the most. Re-recording 'Bleeds No More', a song I wrote in my bedroom 17 years ago, was a very cool experience as well, as was remembering the entire 'Discovering The Waterfront' recording experience."

"I remember writing these songs in basements, demoing them with friends, and testing them on the road," reflects drummer Paul Koehler. "Starting as a hobby, then given the opportunity to fulfil a dream, and all of sudden finding myself in the middle of a real music career. These songs are a cross-section from the early material that helped define our band, along with my own life."

"After so many years, it's a lot of fun for me to revisit these old albums and be transported back in time to when we were creating them," says guitarist Josh Bradford. "Even through the rose-colored lens of nostalgia, it's hard not to notice how much recording technology has changed and how much we have grown as musicians in the time since. With this in mind, we've decided to give a selection of our favorite tunes a sonic update. These songs clearly mean a lot to people, so we've tried our very best to honor the original recordings while making them sound more modern and polished."

Guitarist Paul Marc Rousseau furthers: "These updated versions breathe new life into songs I've loved for as long as I can remember. Our goal was to put some polish on old performances while staying faithful to the original arrangements, and though it was challenging deciphering some of the forgotten and buried parts. I had a great time doing it."

According to bassist Billy Hamilton, the release is special because it's the connective tissue between the band and fans. He shares: "The great thing about this collection is that it's not just mine, it's not just SILVERSTEIN's. It's yours, it's all of ours, and this is our chance to revisit our cherished songs, memories and feelings."

"Redux: The First 10 Years" track listing:

01. Smashed Into Pieces
02. Smile In Your Sleep
03. American Dream
04. Bleeds No More
05. My Heroine
06. Vices
07. Your Sword vs My Dagger
08. If You Could See Into My Soul
09. Giving Up
10. Still Dreaming (Acoustic)
11. Red Light Pledge
12. Call It Karma


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).