SCUM OF THE EARTH Album to Feature UmixIt Technology

SCUM OF THE EARTH, the new band led by ROB ZOMBIE guitarist Riggs, will release their debut album, "Blah... Blah... Blah... Love Songs for the New Millennium", on October 26 through Eclipse Records. The album was written by Riggs with collaborative help from his friends and recorded at Belt of Orion Studios in Los Angeles. Riggs produced the record, which was mixed by Frank Gryner (ROB ZOMBIE, A PERFECT CIRCLE) and Brandon Belski (VELVET REVOLVER, STAIND, STATIC-X). Guest musicians on the album include POWERMAN 5000 guitarist Mike Tempesta, Mike's brother and ROB ZOMBIE drummer John Tempesta, SYSTEM OF A DOWN drummer John Dolmayan, and old friends, bassist Clay Campbell and drummer Seven.

"I didn't really have a band or anything in the beginning," Riggs says in a press release. "I just had all these songs, and I picked the best ones and then asked some people to help me out. It's amazing how well everything came together. Mike Tempesta even ended up contributing two tracks of his own."

"Get Your Dead On", the first single, will also feature UmixIt interactive technology, which will allow the listener to isolate, violate and remix on their computer, up to 16 audio tracks of the song by emphasizing, cutting back or removing any instrument or vocal. "Blah..." is the first disc ever to be released featuring this new technology. "We are always looking for ways to offer music lovers something that lets them be engaged interactively with their music," says Eclipse label President Chris Poland. "We believe that empowering the consumer and inviting interaction is the way of the future for record labels." UmixIt, based in New York and formed in 2003, is a joint venture between Enterprise Golden Hawk and Webster Hall Records.

Of course, not all of "Blah... Blah... Blah... Love Songs for the New Millennium" is raw, fist-in-your-face metal. "Little Spider" is an ominous acoustic-based song with orchestral percussion by SYSTEM OF A DOWN drummer John Dolmayan. "Pornstar Champion", a track originally recorded as a musical score for the "Any Given Sunday" soundtrack, is a groove-heavy mix of rhythms, hard rock riffs and samples from QUEEN's "We Will Rock You". Written by Riggs and producer Michael Beinhorn (KORN, RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS), it was produced by Beinhorn and Irv Gotti.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).