SAXON Manager Checks In

SAXON's manager Thomas Jensen has posted the following message on the group's official web site:

"After a hectic week I would like to keep you posted on the latest activities of the band. It might be too much information but I'll try to keep it short.

"Thursday: Biff [Byford, vocals] and Charlie [Bauerfeind, produer] finished the mix of the new album, 'The Inner Sanctum'. I must say Mr. Bauerfeind and Mr. Byford did an amazing job. You will hear the result at the beginning of March. Rest of the band and management tried to make it to London. The biggest storm for ages nearly stopped us, but as you all know, we are always 'flying on the edge.' The most difficult job had been done by Nibbs [Carter, bass]. Nearly stranded in the Western part, on several airports, of Germany. Unbelievable, this boy, arriving in time in London for the big press album launch party on Friday. All the English and European rock press joined us. Fantastic location in London, used to be a court house with the original prison cells where we put Biff and the band to do the interviews (Biff said he felt quit at home in there). The court house has a cinema in the building, this is where we played the album to the press and bits and pieces of the bonus DVD which features the 'Night out with the Boys Tour'. I had the impression they all loved it. Harvey Goldsmith and his team supported us on the presentation of the new single.

"There was so much interest that the band was doing endless interviews. Especially Britta, my ICS PR. Girl couldn't believe how Biff got through this interview marathon finishing at midnight. Result: our time schedule was totally fucked up!!

"We arrived at 4:30 a.m. in Sheffield on Saturday. 8:00 o clock I had to be at BBC Sheffield with Biff again then rush back to the hotel 8:45 interview with Radio Hallam, and 9:15 interview with Eamon Holmes on 5Live. We were promoting the big Sheffield gig on 26th of January, of course, the new single and our Guinness world record with Sheffield Wednesday and Amanda Griffith. This did bring some decent guitar music on radio.

"In the two days of promotion the single was played on daytime radio including 5Live, Mojo, Xfm and tons more, maybe two million heard the single and don't forget this is one of the big reasons we are doing this to bring heavy metal on mainstream radio again.

"At 3:45 half time Amanda, Sheffield Wednesday Football Club, SAXON, Sheffield Wednesday fans and Sunderland fans broke the world record for the biggest air guitar esemble. The band were having some fun with it and taking it all not too serious, which is good. Official infos will follow from the Guinness world record people. A big 'thank you' to all the fans joining us in shitty weather and bad half time result. The band was also supporting the Hallam Kids charity. We gave Sheffield Wednesday the original master of the single which is unique to put in their fund raising auction and signed lots of shirts and programs also.

"News on the DVD release, off to Hallam back again is because we have been filming a lot of 'The Inner Sanctum' stuff ourselves plus the upcoming Sheffield show. We are going to add some of this to the DVD. SPV decided to release it in July."

SAXON will release its new album, "The Inner Sanctum", in Europe on March 5 (Germany: March 2, U.S.: April 3) via SPV Records.

"The Inner Sanctum" will be available as a digipack with a bonus DVD and as a jewel case, featuring a bonus track.

"The Inner Sanctum" limited editon track listing:

01. State of Grace
02. Need for Speed
03. Let Me Feel Your Power
04. Red Star Falling
05. I've Got to Rock (To Stay Alive)
06. If I Was You (album version)
07. Going Nowhere Fast
08. Ashes to Ashes
09. Empire Rising
10. Atila the Hun

Bonus DVD (approximately 50 minutes long):

A Night Out with the Boys:

01. To Hell and Back Again
02. A Night Out with the Boys – The Idea
03. A Night Out with the Boys - Not Really
04. See the Light Shining
05. A Night Out with the Boys - Now It Started
06. Redline
07. Suzie Hold On
08. Stand Up and Be Counted
09. Frozen Rainbow
10. Never Surrender


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).