SARKE: Video Footage From 'Oldarhian' Release Party

SARKE, the Norwegian band featuring Sarke (real name: Thomas Bergli; KHOLD, TULUS, OLD MAN'S CHILD, SENSA ANIMA) and Nocturno Culto (DARKTHRONE), held a release party for its sophomore album, "Oldarhian", on April 19 at John Dee in Oslo, Norway with special guest INSIDIOUS DISEASE. Check out video footage from the concert below (courtesy of Leonardo Fonseca).

"Oldarhian" was released on April 15 via Indie Recordings.

In 2009, Bergli joined forces with Nocturno Culto and Anders Hunstad (EL CACO, AUTOPULVER) on keyboards to release the debut SARKE album called "Vorunah". It was a mesmerizing journey through dark and soothing soundscapes, musically inspired by the legends like MAYHEM, SLAYER, DARKTHRONE, CELTIC FROST, BLACK SABBATH, CANDLEMASS, DEATH, MOTRHEAD and KREATOR. "Vorunah" received great feedback from both press and the fans alike and Sarke thus decided to do live shows. He put together an impressive lineup, featuring Cyrus (SUSPERIA, DIMMU BORGIR) and Steinar Gundersen (SATYRICON, SPIRAL ARCHITECT) on guitars and Asgeir Mickelson (SPIRAL ARCHITECT, ex-BORKNAGAR) on drums. The band played successful shows at festivals like Inferno, Hole In The Sky, Party.San, Brutal Assault and Ragnarok, to name but a few.

On "Oldarhian" SARKE is still inspired by the great rock bands from the '70s, the death and thrash metal of the '80s, and the '90s black metal. The CD was recorded in Oslo at H-10 Productions the old-fashioned way, and continues the formula from the debut album: dark, epic and groovy.

Commented Sarke: "Our music is inspired by the great '70s rock bands, '80s speed metal bands and '90s black metal bands. Put this together with the creative mind of the band and your get pure dark rock music sounding is clear, raw and honest."

Added Nocturno Culto: "What an album! We can now act like six real rock stars and attention-seeking brats."

"Oldarhian" track listing:

01. Condemned
02. Pilgrim Of The Occult
03. Pessimist
04. Passage To Oldarhian
05. Flay The Wolf
06. Captured
07. Paradigm Lost
08. Novel Dawn
09. Burning Of The Monoliths
10. The Stranger Brew


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).